Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This is a very good soup. Like others, I used smoked Kielbasa (1/2 pound for 4 servings). I had never made anything with lentils before and sure appreciate how quickly they cook. I used only 3 cups of water - we like our soup very thick. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Loved this recipe!! Received this in my inbox yesterday morning, went to the store at lunch, ran home put everything in the crock pot, turned it on high, had hot soup ready when I got have from work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gerber, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Yummy! We varied this a bit, though. We used 4 cups of chicken stock, Healthy Choice smoked sausage, and cut the cayenne down to 1/4 tsp. Great soup for a chilly winter day and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I used turkey smoked sausage and didn't have head cabbage, but used a portion of a bag of 3-color slaw I had (which is mostly shredded cabbage anyway). I used half the cayenne and it was still plenty spicy for my taste and petite diced tomatoes. Hearty, good soup...I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was very tasty, even my brother liked it, and he couldn't believe it was made with vegetarian sausage. He loves his meat..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was great soup. I did make some changes. I used turkey sausage, added carrots and I didn't have any cabbage so I used brussles sprouts. Very yummy and quite filling. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Thank you so much for posting this recipe, it was amazing! I dont have much to say, I just really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I liked this soup, and my boyfriend loved it. He said it was as good as the chicken tortilla soup recipe we found on allrecipes and I think that soup is one of the best ever. Anyways, I made the recipe as is, except for that I added a little sugar to compliment the tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I've looked for a favorite lentil soup recipe for years and this is it! I use 4 Boca Smoked Sausages browned in a little oil and thinly sliced, and I add a little more cabbage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Fantastic recipe to use as a guide; easy to customize. A keeper! I suggest eliminating the boullion cubes. Use instead 4 cups of broth as a substitute for the cubes and water... it works wonderfully. If you don't care about it being vegetarian, I suggest using (Mexican) chorizo sausage in place of vegetarian "sausage" (another hideously artifical invention). Chorizo worked great (cook it first and add at the end) and made it super spicy! If you want vegetarian soup, add an extra cup of onion for body and leave out the veggie sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVER13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States