Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I thought this was an excellent recipe with changes I made to fit my tastes. I tossed out the veggie sausage and used 2 links Hot Italian Sausage & 2 links Mild Italian Sausage. I also used Tony Chachares cajun seasoning which has cayenne included in it. I had to let it simmer for an hour before the lentils were done. I live in high altitude though. It was spicy, just how I like it. So if you are sensitive to hot food don't use hot sausage and cut back on cayenne. Great for the cold temps we've been having. mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Very good. Used Tofurky vegetarian sausage (which by the way is made w/ real food ingredients and not loaded w/ chemicals). Topped w/ parmesan cheese. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Used crock pot and it turned out great. Used regular smoked sausage instead of vegetarian. The whole family liked it, even my husband who doesn't like beans or lentils. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Delicious, but a little bland. Next time I make it I will add a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
We liked the soup, but next time will use less (if any) cayenne pepper - it was very hot - but we intend to have leftover soup for lunch. I like the idea of using the veggie sausages, It's a great Lenten dish, no pun intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
We didn't have any onions (ran out) or cabbage on hand, so I made this with carrots, celery, and some red bell pepper in their place. This came out absolutely delicious. We sprinkled a little grated Romano on top, which made it even better. I used Andouille chicken sausages. This was an awesome variation on our usual lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I have now tried this twice, once with lentils and once with split peas. I also used regular smoked sausage. It is OK but I think I will try again without the thyme. It just doesn't have the right seasoning for me. I thought it was the lentils, but I think it is the thyme and my taste of course. Good texture though and I did like the cabbage flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was a very good soup for a cold day. I doubled the recipe and put everything in a crock pot for six hours. Made cornbread and we had a delicious meal on a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is a great soup! The Soyrizo Crumble that I used made it look more like a chili...so I served half of it over Spaghetti, my husband thought that was awesome! Will make again with out crumble sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Delicious, restaurant-quality soup. My husband was astounded by how great this soup tasted, and how little time it took to prepare. He said that he had a soup like this just the other day at a five-star restaurant that had andouille sausage in it instead. So next time, I might substitute the turkey sausage that I used for andouille sausage. Also, if you don't like your food too spicy, I'd say forgo on the cayenne pepper, and just add more garlic. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States