Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Excellent with a few variations. Used 3 cubes of vegetable bouillon, and polish sausage and extra cabbage. My husband and I loved it and enjoyed the leftovers for lunch the next day. Did not add any more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
It was only ok. Think it would be better with out the vegetarian smoked sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Wonderful flavor (with some of the changes suggested). I used 8 oz. of sliced keilbasa and 6 c. of chicken broth along with 2 c. of shredded cabbage. It was fantastic!!! I gave it 4 stars because of the changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvnMitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rison, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Made this last night and everyone liked it. I used mild Italian sausage from a local Italian market instead of the vegetarian sausage. I did not add salt as the veg. bouillon & the canned tomatoes are salty enough. When the soup was done, I stirred in the cabbage and let it cook for a few minutes; as a result, the cabbage retained some of its crispness and was a nice texture element. The cayenne really looses its zing in all that water, so don't worry about it being hot. Served with Jiffy brand cornbread muffins, and the sweetness of the cornbread is a great compliment to the savory flavors of the soup. This is a great basic recipe to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I sautéed the onion on high, stirring until soft, and then let it soften on low until translucent. I then added a chopped green pepper, one chopped carrot, and an entire 1-lb bag of lentils with the garlic and a jar of sauerkraut instead of cabbage. Note that I ran the sauerkraut under cold water first to get rid of the extra saltiness. I then added 6 cups of water (since I used 2x the lentils) with the bouillon cubes, brought it all to a boil, then reduced it to a simmer for one hour. Oh, and I added one ham hock instead of the sausage and shredded the meat off of the bone once it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
A thick hearty meal of a soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I made this tonight. I didn't have any cabbage on hand so I used some celery instead. I also used sun-dried tomato instead of diced tomato. I omitted the cayenne as I'm cooking for my family with different tastes. My 6 year old said "This is actually good", after examining it, prodding it with her fork and finally taking a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdieO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Fantastic!! I used 1 lb. of country style sausage, doubled the garlic and cabbage and cut the cayenne pepper in half. I also used two 14.5 oz. cans of vegatable broth and about 2 cups of water. (I wanted it to be more of a soup than a stew.) It was a huge hit with everyone ... I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hegins, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Really easy to make. Tastes great. Will most likely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Pretty good soup! I used turkey smoked sausage and low sodium chicken broth. If I make it again, here is what I would do differently...twice as much cabbage, 2 cans of tomatoes, no cayenne (even 1/4 tsp was too spicy for the kids).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States