Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My family really enjoys this recipe. We are not vegetarians, so we use regular smoked sausage. I also generally subsitute ham base for the vegetable base. I have made the recipe without the sausage to make it very economical and that works really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I used fresh thyme, Emeril's chicken sausages, and a bit more garlic.This is a husband and kid pleaser for winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I didn't make this vegetarian, using smoked turkey sausage instead. I waited until about 10/15 minutes before serving to add the cabbage so it retained some of it's texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Delicious! Great meal on a cold night :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was a really good starting point. I used 16oz of lentils doubled all the spices and then added some more and when I couldn't get the taste "just right" I used my last resort and dumped in a package of Lipton onion soup mix...and it was perfect. I also wouldn't add the sausage next time...it really didn't add anything. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This is a yummy soup. I didn't have tomato can, so I chopped 2 fresh tomato and added like 2-3 spoons of tomamto paste in it. I used turkey sausage too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This soup is really filling and has a comfort food feel to it. My grocery store did not have meatless sausage, but to keep it on the lite side I used Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage. I tripled the amount of shredded cabbage, doubled the thyme and cayenne pepper. I found the liquid needed to be increased as well. My husband went back for seconds and plans to take it for lunch tomorrow. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was yummy - I followed some suggestions and made my own additions: used small french lentils instead of regular and the 4 cups chicken broth instead of 2 cups water and bouillon cubes. I increased cabbage to 1 cup, and sliced very thinly instead of shredding finely. Used 1/2 smoked turkey sausage coil, 1/2 turnip diced, 4 baby carrots sliced, Herbes de Provence instead of thyme, red Mexican chili pepper because I had no cayenne, added some Hungarian paprika, and 1 Bay leaf. Everyone liked it. Meant to add some chopped Swiss chard but forgot. Will add it to the leftovers tomorrow - that should make it even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Love lentil soup, but this kicks it up a notch! I doubled+ the lentils and just used the whole 16oz bag, a whole but small head of cabbage, 2 cans of tomatoes and the turkey smoked sausage I had on hand. Doubled all of the other ingredients. A wonderful stew, thick and just a perfect heat from the cayenne that you usually don't have in lentil soup. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I shredded the cabbage in my cuisinart and substituted vegetarian sausage for turkey sausage. I also used chicken bouillon and might use chicken broth next time. I simmered it for double the time and the lentils held up wonderfully and absorbed the flavor well. We will make it again. Doubling the recipe tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States