Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Loved this recipe, I did add chicken stock. Served with mexican corn bread and husband loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This went over really well with my daughter & husband. I wasn't crazy about my first bite but after a few bites I realized how good & hearty this soup is. I tried to double this recipe to use up my lentils as I had a bigger bag - next time I may measure this out. I too am not a spicy person so I only used 1/4 tsp of the cayenne pepper. I used tequila lime chicken sausage as this was what I had in the fridge. I think this is a recipe one can use alternatives quite easily to suit ones taste buds. I will be making this again but next time I might throw it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I made several modifications, but loved the recipe! It was very flavorful and very easy. When I was at the store, I forgot that it called for cabbage. I had some carrots at home, so I included those instead. It was GREAT! I used 4 cloves of garlic instead of one (because one clove of garlic in a nice stew is pointless), kielbasa sausage, and low sodium chicken broth. It didn't need a lot of salt because the sausage provided so much flavor. You could do so many variations with this, using whatever is on hand. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was my first time with lentils. I really liked this soup. The changes I made were that I used 4 cups of vegetable stock instead of the water,turkey smoked sausage (one link), the diced tomatoes that had jalapenos in them and added some fresh corn cut off the cob. I let it simmer on the stove for 2-3 hours. I took the leftovers to work and they all enjoyed it as well. Very good and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
First time using Lentils and Cabbage together. It was very good. 3 out of 4 of us liked this recipe and we will make this again. We used Andouille sausage, Banana Pepper in place of Cayenne Pepper but you could if you wanted more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I thought the cayenne pepper overpowered the soup; I would use half as much if I made this soup again. I would definitely add more cabbage too. I used turkey kielbasa sausage instead of vegetarian, but doubt that altered the taste much. I have made many lentil soups and find this one to be very ordinary, so I am unlikely to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This soup was awesome. I changed it up since I didn't have the vegetarian options on hand. I used chicken broth and regular smoked sausage. I also added a leek and shallot. Great flavor and the cayenne gives it just the right kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacikb

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I used 1-16oz bag lentils, onion, celery, carrots, 1 large can diced tomatoes, half cabbage, chicken bullion, 1 Hillshire Farms lite smoked sausage diced, and 9 cups of water. Threw it all in the crock pot on low in the morning and wala, we had an amazing meal when we got home. Comfort food at it's best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Yummy Vegan soup! It would have been delicious with Vegan Field Roast Sausages, but I am trying to reduce the salt in my life so I left it out. Still very yummy. We didn't shred the cabbage.. just chopped.. 'cause that's how we roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I am this last night. Can you say AWESOME. Ladies give your man a bowl of this and cold beer and he will love you forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States