Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Was Awesome as written. I would give this 10 stars if I could. Any bad reviews given did something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luis Mona Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lizella, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Not my favorite lentil soup, but it was still very tasty. I used venison sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This soup was great!!!! I added 2lbs of Italian sausage Hot and Medium instead of sweet, added a little crushed peppers and elbow macaroni.Served with Italian bread, My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Good. Probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This soup tastes just like Carrabbas! I only use chicken stock, no water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Absolutely a fantastic soup! Made it twice before and just getting around to reviewing it since it was dinner tonight. Like many reviewers, I too, used smoked turkey kielbasa (quartered) to save on a few calories. I needed to use up several ingredients in my fridge (organic spinach & carrot shreds, veggie broth and tomato paste), so this recipe allowed me a fridge clean-out tonight! I only had a 14.5oz can petite diced tomatoes, so I used that, along with the juice and a few heaping tablespoons of tomato paste to compensate for the lack of tomatoes. Omitted oregano (not a fan) and doubled up on basil. For the liquid, I used a combo of veggie broth and water (to which I added chicken base to taste). This soup makes a TON, so be prepared for leftovers (bonus!) and the aroma of this simmering soup is intoxicating (and I don't mean that literally, since I added in a couple glugs of a nice Pinot Noir I happened to be enjoying while making this soup). I was baffled, however, by the suggested cooking time. My HUGE pot was done in 40 minutes, lentils perfect. Served with garlic bread, this soup has consistently been a favorite in the fall/winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Awesome! Very flavorful and healthy. Definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
only change I made was using hickory smoked sausage instead of sweet italian suausage because thats what I had on hand. I felt the pasta was a bit much. It turned a bit thick to be soup but stew is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
What a hearty, delicious not to mention economical soup! Lentils are a great source of protein. It makes a "ton" so you may want to modify it unless you want to freeze it. I made one slight change to it though. I increased the chicken stock so that it was half water, half stock. I think it made a richer soup even though the sausage makes it pretty rich already. We have enough to freeze for a cold winter night. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I was looking for something a little different and this did not disappoint! I used 1/2 pound of sweet and 1/2 pound hot italian sausage. I also used 1 teaspoon of salt and pepper and added some kale. My 15 year old and my husband loved it. Delicious! I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States