Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Not my favorite lentil soup, but it was still very tasty. I used venison sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This soup was great!!!! I added 2lbs of Italian sausage Hot and Medium instead of sweet, added a little crushed peppers and elbow macaroni.Served with Italian bread, My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Good. Probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This soup tastes just like Carrabbas! I only use chicken stock, no water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Absolutely a fantastic soup! Made it twice before and just getting around to reviewing it since it was dinner tonight. Like many reviewers, I too, used smoked turkey kielbasa (quartered) to save on a few calories. I needed to use up several ingredients in my fridge (organic spinach & carrot shreds, veggie broth and tomato paste), so this recipe allowed me a fridge clean-out tonight! I only had a 14.5oz can petite diced tomatoes, so I used that, along with the juice and a few heaping tablespoons of tomato paste to compensate for the lack of tomatoes. Omitted oregano (not a fan) and doubled up on basil. For the liquid, I used a combo of veggie broth and water (to which I added chicken base to taste). This soup makes a TON, so be prepared for leftovers (bonus!) and the aroma of this simmering soup is intoxicating (and I don't mean that literally, since I added in a couple glugs of a nice Pinot Noir I happened to be enjoying while making this soup). I was baffled, however, by the suggested cooking time. My HUGE pot was done in 40 minutes, lentils perfect. Served with garlic bread, this soup has consistently been a favorite in the fall/winter dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Awesome! Very flavorful and healthy. Definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
only change I made was using hickory smoked sausage instead of sweet italian suausage because thats what I had on hand. I felt the pasta was a bit much. It turned a bit thick to be soup but stew is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
What a hearty, delicious not to mention economical soup! Lentils are a great source of protein. It makes a "ton" so you may want to modify it unless you want to freeze it. I made one slight change to it though. I increased the chicken stock so that it was half water, half stock. I think it made a richer soup even though the sausage makes it pretty rich already. We have enough to freeze for a cold winter night. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I was looking for something a little different and this did not disappoint! I used 1/2 pound of sweet and 1/2 pound hot italian sausage. I also used 1 teaspoon of salt and pepper and added some kale. My 15 year old and my husband loved it. Delicious! I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
YUM! I made a few minor modifications, causing a less-than-perfect result, but still delicious. And I'm sure it would be perfectly tasty as-written too. I used Turkey sausage, not double, but maybe 30-50% more. I used diced fresh tomato instead of canned, added a chopped zucchini because I had extra laying around. I also cut the carrots into rounds and used 2 stalks of celery, and used Orzo pasta. I messed up a bit on when to add which veggies, and how long to simmer. I overdid the veggies, and a bit too much of the broth simmered off because I was paranoid that it was too watery so I simmered it for about 15 minutes without a lid. I shouldn't have done that- now it's a bit stew-like, but still tastes GREAT. I served it with Romano Cheese and a French baguette. PUT ROMANO CHEESE ON TOP! It adds a whole new, amazing dimension to the soup! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States