Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
really good soup, I doubled the sausage too and cut it back to 6 cups of water, wanted it a little thicker. Cooked in slow cooker all day, husband loved it. Only thing I didn't use was thyme, just don't like the flavor of it. Gets better next day and freezes really well, thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
very tasty... followed exactly as is.... very important to let simmer for 2.5-3 hours for full effect and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My family loved this. I accidentally used hot sausage instead of sweet sausage. My husband bought it by mistake and my youngest son kept commenting on how the soup was really hot as he wolfed it down. I think I will use the sweet sausage next time, as I don't care for spicy hot so much. I also left out the tomatoes since my oldest does not like them, but am thinking I will add them if there is any soup left over. Also added barley instead of pasta. Trying to cut down on wheat, but I think it would be good either way. This is a soup that is easy to adjust to your own taste and could be changed up a little every time, so it does not get boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
As I used red lentils, which cook in about 20 minutes, I cut out 2 cups of water and reduced the simmer time to 25 minutes. I also used about 4 cloves fresh garlic, a whole pound of mild Italian sausage and 1 1/2 cups shredded carrots. I ramped up the dry seasonings (except for salt) by 1/4 tsp. and I waited until I turned off the stove to add the fresh parsley. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This will be one of our regular soups from now on. I'll try it with spicy Italian sausage next time for a change but this version was yummy just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
My husband gave this recipe a thumbs up. He really likes the sausage and lentil soup at Carrabba's and always orders it instead of the salad. He said this is as close it could get. I chopped the carrots instead of shredding. Was worried that the tablespoon of salt would be too much, but it wasn't. Did add about 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes as others suggested and it spiced it up just right. Did cut back on liquid as others suggested and used 8-1/2 cups of all chicken broth, no water used. Didn't add the pasta because it was already a lot of soup for the two of us. Would need the extra liquid if pasta was added. Plenty enough left to freeze for later. We didn't even know we liked lentils. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was a keeper. I changed it up a little bit and I would make it again. I used a pound of Johnsonville All Natural Sweet Italian sausage and added a few chili flakes. I used all chicken broth (3 quarts) instead of the broth and water called for and I used 1/2 lb lentils and 1/2 lb lentil wild rice blend from the bulk section at WinCo. Cooked for about 30 - 45 minutes stove top until the lentils were tender and then added the tomatoes. (When cooking lentils and beans adding tomatoes before the lentils are soft keeps them from softening) Then into a large crockpot on low until it was time for dinner. This would be a great dinner to have waiting at home after practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Read all the reviews and just added kale and used andouille sausage. I did halve the salt and that seemed about right. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Prepared the recipe as it, but halved it and used all chicken broth instead of water and just finely chopped my carrots. Turned out delicious and flavorful! A Perot hearty soul for winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States