Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
If this went to a million stars I would rate it the highest of the highest. I used mild italian sausage instead of sweet but otherwise did the recipe exactly. I can't stop eating it.....BY FAR one of the best soups I've ever made (if not theeeee best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was fabulous. I used a pound of sweet Italian turkey sausage, skipped the pasta and added some fresh cut up kale. Great as leftovers and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I fed the church with this today and it was a hit! Since I am in Mexico and could not find ditalini pasta I substituded with small elbow macaroni pasta. I also could not find canned diced tomatoes so I added 5 fresh diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New Creation

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was my first experience with lentils somehow, and my husband's as well. It was incredible. I'll definitely be making it again! I used 1 lb of sausage and left the celery and carrots chunky. I think I'll double the amount of these next time because the more the better IMO. The only odd thing is that the soup was done after about an hour, not the 2 1/2 - 3 indicated in the recipe. Try this recipe though - you'll LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Tatum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This soup was excellent! I used a 14 bean mix. I did soak the beans prior and pressure cooked for 30 mins to speed up the process. The flavor was wonderful. Added a dash of hot sauce and kick it up a little too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was very yummy and very easy to make. I made it on the stove top, but I am going to make it in the crock-pot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Very tasty! I used bison sausages and put it in the slow cooker after cooking the vegetable (I baked the sausages separately) -- however, next time, I'll make sure to add the stock & lentils & bring to a boil before putting in the slow cooker. I didn't do that, so I had to put it on for about 14 hours to get the lentils soft - still it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
We loved this! I deviated from the recipe just a little by increasing the sausage by half, using 2 stalks of celery, and chopping the carrot rather than shredding it. I used all chicken broth, no water, and I skipped the pasta because we didn’t think it needed it. I thought that 1 T. of garlic powder might be overkill, but it wasn’t and I used it all. I started checking this after an hour of simmering, but in my opinion the lentils weren’t nearly soft enough. I checked it every half hour after that, but ended up simmering this for the full 3 hours. This makes a big batch of soup, but I froze the leftovers to be enjoyed again and again! UPDATE 3/7/13 - I made this again. This time using only 8 oz. of hot Italian sausage which wasn't nearly enough. Next time I will double it to a full pound. I also used two really large cloves of garlic, rather than the garlic powder, that I added to the onions when they were just about translucent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I couldn't rate it 5 stars as written, the seasoning lacked something. I upped the flavour by adding a splash of Worchestershire sauce and added some Old Bay Seasoning to round out the flavour. Be careful with the salt; with the Worchestershire and Old Bay Seasoning, I did not add the tablespoon of salt called for in the recipe since these seasonings already contain salt, as do the canned tomatoes, sausages, and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
very tasty recipe ,my husband who does not normaly like peas had two helpings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States