Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by messy_jessie
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Yummy! I used Italian style tomatoes, subbed tomato sauce for part of the water, used double the sausage, and left out the pasta. My picky son ate two bowls! Gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My family very much enjoyed this soup. I made revisions - only because I didn't have all the ingredients. I fried the onions in all the spices until they were translucent, added Kielbasa sausage, shredded carrots, sliced celery and some of the chicken stock, can of lentils and black beans. I let that simmer for about 15 minutes. I then heated the remainder of the chicken stock, added water, the sausage mixture, 1TBS of sugar and 1 TBS of red wine vinegar. I then salted to taste. It was really good. The vinegar really adds something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is an awesome soup, great on a cold day. My grandchildren don't like lentils so I didn't tell them they were in the soup and they went for seconds. Hats of to you angchic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This soup was awesome! I followed the recipe exactly (because I felt like) and it was delicious. Even my boys (5 and 2) loved it. Up until now I couldn't get my older son to eat onion or celery in a soup; I have to strain it first. I would make this soup again just for this reason alone. We all loved it, the flavor was great. I think I might experiment with different chicken or turkey sausage or leaving it out because there was so much flavor. This is going into my regular rotation. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Being a VEGAN, I used Field Roast Chipotle Mexican vegan sausage (SPICY and sooooooo good) and "no-chik'n" broth. Cooked it in the slow cooker (took quite a bit longer though). My husband LOVES it. This will definitely be a staple throughout winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this tonight it was excellent! I did make a few changes, I cooked it only for 1 1/2 hours, added fresh spinach, a giant can of fat free chicken broth (48 oz), and 4 cups of water in place of the stated amounts. Also used crushed tomatoes instead of diced. Lastly, I added a little red pepper and very little salt, I didn't have oregon so I skipped that. Even my picky husband loved this! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good flavor. I used polish rope sausage because it was what I had on hand. I think either would be good. Used a bit more chilli pepper flakes. Nice and spicy with deep flavor. Oops I forgot I also used beef broth instead of chicken. Made it richer I'm sure. Nice way to use up a bunch of lentils I had in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Copperopolis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
As other reviewers suggested, I used hot Italian sausage and added in 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper (and the rest of the spices the recipe called for). The result was a spicy, delicious soup! We like our soups a little thicker so I added 9 cups of water and three bouillon cubes and it was perfect. I cooked on low for about 1.5 hours and it was done. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was a hit with the entire family... a grand accomplishment in this household! I tried to make the recipe to the letter, but, alas, I can't make anything without tweaking it at least a little. Doubled the sausage and probably quintupled the garlic. Subbed dried rosemary for the thyme, even though I like thyme. Hey - was in the mood for rosemary. Sliced the carrots into coins, rather than shred my knuckles, LOL. Since I always use chicken soup base paste, rather than canned broth, I'm not sure if my broth measurements were precise. Just winged-it. Still turned out to be a lovely meal; I don't miss Carrabba's sausage and lentil soup at all, anymore! We grown-folks added some heat to our bowls, but the soup really didn't need it. One of the few dishes we actually preferred without the hot stuff.... and that's saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
make this soup all the time and I love it!! It is just as good as Carrabba's :) I use hot Italian turkey sausage (healthier!) and add a little crushed pepper to kick it up a notch. I also use all chicken broth instead of water. It's a very filling, very flavorful, and very healthy soup! Oh, and I've never cooked it for 2.5 or 3 hours....1 hour or so seems to be plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Stvnsn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States