Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I have made this soup a few times. i always add 1 lb of sausage instead of the 1/2 lb since I like a hearty meaty soup. Also I don't shred the carrots but cut them in rounds. all the other proportions were spot on. I've also used bow tie pasta, shells and macaroni noodles in place of the ditalini pasta only because I didn't have it on hand. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Excellent light dinner served with a salad! My preferences: No tomato. No pasta. Salt to taste at the end....1 TBSP listed is too much!! Used only fresh garlic and fresh herbs. I diced all the vegetables about the same size as the lentils(1/4 inch), and added 2 TBSP red bell pepper. I used Oscar Mayer Turkey Sausage-small dice, adding the sausage after the first 30 minutes. Started with 1 box broth and 10 cups water and simmered for 1 1/2 hours, I wanted the lentils to maintain their shape and not turn to mush. If you cook it longer or higher you may have to add more liquid. Romano cheese sprinkled at the end is really unnecessary, plenty of flavor going on already! Portioned into servings and froze the left over for easy quick individual meals. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I skipped the tomatoes and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I also cut up the carrots into small pieces. I used a home made chicken broth (recipe from this site) only 6 cups of water bc my pot could not hold 8 but I think the soup is better with just 6. And I didnt add the pasta, felt no need for it. Really tasty soup, filled me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This came out great! A big hit with the whole family. Made a double recipe to freeze some for later and share with freinds. Ended up adding a fair amount more broth/water later (probably 30 oz or so) as it got really thick with the pasta in there. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious Soup! My whole family gave it a thumbs up, served it with toasted garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is a delicious soup. I make it strictly by the recipe and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I gave it 5stars as it was a hit with the hubby. Used turkey kielbasa and it tasted great! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was absolutely fabulous. Smelled wonderful while cooking, tasted really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is probably the best soup I've ever made. Everyone who has tasted it just raves about it. I love hearty soup, so I use 2 lbs of Italian sausage then add the full amount of liquid - though I use about 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water. I also omit the pasta - it doesn't need it. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States