Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This soup is great! Even my extremely picky daughter loved it. I changed the recipe very little: I used spicy bulk Italian sausage instead of the sweet and increased it to about 3/4 lb. I didn't put in the pasta (mainly because I forgot it at the store), but instead put in a can of kidney beans, which didn't really change the flavor, just added a little color. I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this as is except I omitted the parsley and thyme...didn't have either and I only used half of the garlic powder. I thought a TBS. plus the fresh garlic was going to be a little too much for my breath to handle the next day. I tried to do this in the crock pot, but after 6 hours the lentils still weren't tender. It really needs to be at an active simmer to cook those little guys. The flavor in this was fantastic and be sure to add the cheese (I used parmesan...didn't have romano) because it really adds a nice creaminess and zip. This was a great soup that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 2-2DRAGOON
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I made it according to the recipe. I would do two things: less salt, maybe 1/4 and some crushed red pepper flakes for more spice. I used more sausage as you can't buy it in partial pounds. I also forgot the pasta, but it was plenty thick. Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park River, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Easy and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This soup is great! I did not have Italian sausage on hand, so I used ground turkey burger and added seasonings used to make sausage. I added 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp sage, 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/8 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper, and 1/8 tsp cayenne to the turkey meat and browned. I also used 3 chopped carrots instead of shredded, and I didn't have fresh parsley on hand, so I used dry. I only had half the amount of tomatoes and lentils on hand, so that is what I used. I did not have celery on hand either, but we were very pleased with the outcome! I do think that I will continue to make it with the turkey burger though as a healthier option. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fabulous! I didn't have celery or chicken broth and I used kielbasa instead of Italian sausage. I also added some frozen spinach. This was perfect with some hot sauce, a spoon of sour cream and some grated cheese and served with garlic bread. A new favorite. My husband just went back for seconds.m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is so good!! I was worried my husband would not like it since it doesn't have a lot of meat in it, but he loves it! He said the lentils taste meaty. This is a great dish to stretch your food budget since lentils are cheap. It really is more like a stew because it's pretty thick especially the next day. Very flavorful, filling and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I love the sausage lentil soup from Carabba's, and even though this recipe is a bit different, it's still quite yummy. Adding shredded asiago and parmesan on top made it even better. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Very good combination I also left out 2 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States