Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Prepared the recipe as it, but halved it and used all chicken broth instead of water and just finely chopped my carrots. Turned out delicious and flavorful! A Perot hearty soul for winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This soup is awesome! We were 3 days into a snow storm and I was freezer/pantry diving and this fit the bill. I doubled the onions, celery and carrots. I had frozen cooked lentils, I used 6 cups. I used Better than Bouillon, vegetable bouillon not water and chicken stock. I didn't have diced tomatoes, I used 8 oz no salt added tomato sauce and 8 oz salsa. For the spices I used my homemade salt free Mexican seasoning, dried parley for the fresh, and I omitted the salt. I also had a bunch of kale to use up, I added that and cooked the soup for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. We all enjoyed it. The only thing that I changed was, I cooked the ditalini separately,and put it in a gallon size ziploc bag and refrigerated it. I add the pasta to each individual bowl of soup, so that the pasta stays firm and doesn't go mushy on me. I always do this with any soups that have pasta in them. Makes a huge difference. Will make this recipe often, during the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this for New Year's Eve 2013. Italians usually eat some kind of beans on New Years. My family loved it. I did use more Italian sausage. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Just made this recipe and it turned out awesome. I left out the onions and tomatoes due my sister-in-law's allergies and added extra garlic and celery. I also doubled the amount of sausage. I used 1/4 tsp. of red pepper instead of black pepper and it gave it just the right amount of heat. I also tossed in some fresh spinach I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It's good, but needs more meat & spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Made exactly as specified in the recipe except for the pasta. My wife and I both thought it on the bland side and felt the 8 cups of water made it, well, kind of watery. If I were to make it again, I'd add more sausage and maybe some hot chili paste along with using the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We loved it. I omitted pasta but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Bares Argue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Good, but I prefer a little more bite to my soups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I used jalapeno cheddar deer smokies instead of the Italian sausage and it turned out really well. I also used canned lentils instead of dry and just added them near the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States