Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. We all enjoyed it. The only thing that I changed was, I cooked the ditalini separately,and put it in a gallon size ziploc bag and refrigerated it. I add the pasta to each individual bowl of soup, so that the pasta stays firm and doesn't go mushy on me. I always do this with any soups that have pasta in them. Makes a huge difference. Will make this recipe often, during the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this for New Year's Eve 2013. Italians usually eat some kind of beans on New Years. My family loved it. I did use more Italian sausage. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Just made this recipe and it turned out awesome. I left out the onions and tomatoes due my sister-in-law's allergies and added extra garlic and celery. I also doubled the amount of sausage. I used 1/4 tsp. of red pepper instead of black pepper and it gave it just the right amount of heat. I also tossed in some fresh spinach I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It's good, but needs more meat & spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Made exactly as specified in the recipe except for the pasta. My wife and I both thought it on the bland side and felt the 8 cups of water made it, well, kind of watery. If I were to make it again, I'd add more sausage and maybe some hot chili paste along with using the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We loved it. I omitted pasta but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Good, but I prefer a little more bite to my soups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I used jalapeno cheddar deer smokies instead of the Italian sausage and it turned out really well. I also used canned lentils instead of dry and just added them near the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
TTis recipe was excellent! I used turkey sausage as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner, and it was pretty good. Not the best soup I've ever had, but definitely worth making again. I did turkey italian sausage, and had soaked my lentils overnight, so I only used about 1/2 the water called for. I did beef broth instead of chicken because that's what I had on hand, but other than that, I followed recipe ingredients. I cooked for 1 hr, and then after we ate I decided to let the leftovers cook another 45 minutes to see if the lentils would soften up anymore, but they stayed at about the same texture (which is semi-soft; they were a brownish green color) so I think that must be about as soft as they get, which I liked; DH would've liked a little softer. Other than that, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States