Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was great! I followed the recipe very closely, except used 1.25 lbs of turkey italian sausage (it was pre-packaged, and I didn't know what I would have done with the rest of it if I hadn't thrown it in), dried parsley, chicken broth instead of the water, and by the end, it was so thick I didn't even add the ditalini, and it wasn't missed. I also included some red pepper flakes, but that is personal preference and it may not have been needed. It makes a LOT and we froze some. It freezes well and tasted just as delicious out of the freezer a few weeks later. (Not sure if I would recommend the freezing if we would have included the pasta.) Healthy and delicious. Even my husband, who typically only likes cream-based soups, enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
this was amazing. i was really skeptical the whole time becuase it's really not very good "looking", but it was really the best soup. My changes: 1lb habanero chicken sausage 2 stalks of celery 6 cups of water low sodium chicken broth no salt added diced tomatos 1/2 tsp curry powder red pepper flakes no pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hancoccn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
So delicious and soooo easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This soup is delicious. The only change I made is using all fresh herbs from our garden and a lot more than called for. My husband takes this soup for his lunch Every Day! Full of nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
this recipe makes a lot of soup, so be sure to have a big pot (i had to run out and buy one) few things i would do differently is add more sausage, omit the garlic powder and use fresh garlic instead. oregano and thyme are strong spices and will omit those two. prefer chopped carrots. you can pretty much add any vegetable you want. note: it does not take 3 hours to cook! at most, 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potterprincess500

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was delicious. I had some kielbasa, so I used it instead of Italian sausage. It was still fab. I served it with basic white bread from the great "Baking with Julia" by, of course, Julia Child. I may add a pinch of sugar next time to offset the slight acidity of the tomatoes. Incidentally, it only took about 45 minutes for the lentils to become tender, not 2 1/2 to 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd A. Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is an awesome soup! I tried it out on my husband first and he gave it his stamp of approval so I made it for a luncheon at work. Big Hit! I used some chorizo sausage just to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by Mel4Nol
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great recipe! I used a whole pound of sausage though -makes it a little more hearty. I browned the sausage and onion and celery in a pan and then added everything together in the crockpot and let it simmer for a few hours. Makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I love this recipe and always get tons of compliments on it! I did make a couple changes though...I used mild italian sausage instead of sweet and I added 1 small chopped zucchini. PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States