Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was delicious with a few changes. I added chopped kale at the end of the cooking process. doubled carrots, garlic and celery. diced the carrot instead shredding. and used 8 cups of homemade chicken stock and 2 cups of water. Also added orzo pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent! Followed recipe almost exactly. Didn't have bay leaves, but this recipe was great! Instead of adding the pasta, I added 1/4 cup of barley. Delicious. I also used 1 lb. of chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Fantastic. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent! Used what we had on hand: hot sausage, chicken bioullion instead of water and broth, no celery or carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
We love, love, love this soup! I have shared the recipe with so many people who have tasted the soup when I have made it! Thank you so much for sharing. We do like our meals with a little spice, so I do add some cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes. I also double the veggies (like the carrots, celery and onion). Instead of 8 cups of water, I usually use 4 cans of chicken broth for flavor. You could also add some fresh spinach if you like. AND, the trick is - you can let this soup cook on low all day long if you would like, but don't add the lentils until about 30-40 minutes before you want to serve it (that way, all the flavors come out and you don't wind up with mushy lentils). I usually serve with garlic bread, so I omit the ditalini. The leftover soup also freezes really well, we usually get 2-3 meals out of one big pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCooper1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Wow, is this soup delicious! I used this recipe as the basis and did my own thing from there. I used chicken sausage, omitted the carrots as I didn't have any, added about 1/2 a chopped sweet red pepper, 8 - 10 cloves of garlic (omitting the garlic powder), also added about 1/2 C red wine, doubled the broth, and used only fresh herbs also adding sage. I used whole wheat orzo. This is a thick hearty soup in spite of the added broth. My kind of soup on a cool autumn evening. It only needs a small tossed green salad and some good crusty french bread! YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very very good and tastes a lot like Carrabba's sausage and lentil soup. Instead of using a 1/2 pound of Sweet Italian sausage, I used a quarter and added a quarter of a pound of kielbasa. Instead of chicken broth I used beef broth. I cooked the soup on medium high for an hour, covered and it was perfect! No need to cook it for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
my husband loved this soup so much that he ate 2 1/2 bowls full! i didn't have any lentils since this was not a planned dinner so i used black eyed peas. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I add more sausage. It's great topped with lemon juice and grated Parmesan cheese, or topped with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This soup is spectacular! Huge favorite. I've made it twice in 2 weeks. In the summer. In Phoenix! It's THAT good. I tend to overcook mine so it's a little mushy or more like a pea soup texture, which I like. I've also used black lentils with pink lentils for a different texture. I also leave out the pasta. I'm sure it actually adds to the glory, but I can't eat it. The secret is in the seasonings. The author of this recipe is genius and I applaud them! Thank you for making a healthy soup that is easy to make and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States