Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This soup was great. It was easy to make and my friends liked it. I used andouille sausage instead because it was what I had on hand. This was fantastic and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This was really good, especially with some fresh parmesan and romano cheese grated on top. Very easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Way too salty. When I read the recipe I thought it was too heavy on the salt so I only put half of the amout called for. Next time i'll omit the salt all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Invited a friend over for lunch and tried this recipe today. Excellent. Added small diced ham and a can of drained and rinsed chick peas instead of the pasta. Easy and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Wonderful soup! The flavour is excellent. I usually just use whatever type of sausage I have on hand. I've also made it without the sausage and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This soup is so tasty! I used low-sodium chicken broth and omitted the salt based on other peoples advice. I also only put in about 3/4 the lentils since I dislike lentils. This is the first lentil soup I have liked so I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This is a really great recipe that was easy to work with. I added yellow split pea with the lentils and instead of diced tomatoes I used tomato paste. The soup is absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Very good flavor, lots of veggies that go well with the lentils. I did not dice the carrots, but cut them in rounds. Like some of other reviewers, I only needed to cook this for about one-and-a-half hours (one hour before I added the pasta, then another 30 minutes after). Next time, I might add a little red pepper to spice it up a little, but it was a great flavor, very filling, very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I added a can of corn and my hubby actually said it was just as good as the soup his mother used to make...it doesn't get any better than that!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This soup is OUTSTANDING!!! We just made this tonight and it tasted just like "carabas" spicy sausage and lentil soup, except of course it wasn't spicy. Only changes we made was that we used mild italian sausage other than sweet, added a bit more salt to taste, added a can of spinach towards the end of cooking and instead of cooking it for 2 to 3 hours, we used our pressure cooker and it was done in less than 30 minutes! A very good looking sopu, a meal within itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States