Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This soup is delicious. The only change I made is using all fresh herbs from our garden and a lot more than called for. My husband takes this soup for his lunch Every Day! Full of nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
this recipe makes a lot of soup, so be sure to have a big pot (i had to run out and buy one) few things i would do differently is add more sausage, omit the garlic powder and use fresh garlic instead. oregano and thyme are strong spices and will omit those two. prefer chopped carrots. you can pretty much add any vegetable you want. note: it does not take 3 hours to cook! at most, 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potterprincess500

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was delicious. I had some kielbasa, so I used it instead of Italian sausage. It was still fab. I served it with basic white bread from the great "Baking with Julia" by, of course, Julia Child. I may add a pinch of sugar next time to offset the slight acidity of the tomatoes. Incidentally, it only took about 45 minutes for the lentils to become tender, not 2 1/2 to 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is an awesome soup! I tried it out on my husband first and he gave it his stamp of approval so I made it for a luncheon at work. Big Hit! I used some chorizo sausage just to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Photo by Mel4Nol
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great recipe! I used a whole pound of sausage though -makes it a little more hearty. I browned the sausage and onion and celery in a pan and then added everything together in the crockpot and let it simmer for a few hours. Makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I love this recipe and always get tons of compliments on it! I did make a couple changes though...I used mild italian sausage instead of sweet and I added 1 small chopped zucchini. PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
The best lentil and Sausage Soup that I've made to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
mmmm, good. I skipped the past and used about 3/4 lb sweet It sausage, and only 6 cups of water. The only thing I will change for future batches is to drain the sausage better first and add spinach at the end. I didn't add any salt-never do except for baking- and didn't use parsley since we didn't have any. I made this again for company with sweet italian turkey sausage (3 links), all broth, and threw in some spinach towards the end. Everyone loved it, and asked for the recipe. It does make a lot and I was glad to read that it froze well. For just the 2 of us, I make 1/2 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I can't eat Italian sausage so this is coming second hand, but my husband said this was really good. We were looking for a recipe that was close to Carabba's soup and this is nearly it. He said the restaurant's had a more "meaty" flavor other then that the textures and flavors were dead on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States