Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
It was good. Made it with italian seasoning and added some red pepper flakes for more spice. It was a great and easy recipe, but it didn't do too much for me. Maybe I'll add the pasta next time and then try again. 4 stars for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Really good soup. I wish I had put the sausage aside and added that in at the very end because it gave all of its flavor up to the soup. I also added a diced sweet potato when I tossed in the tomatoes and some spinach at the very end. Very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delaquinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
delicious healthy soup! I use turkey sausage and chop the carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a hearty and satisfying “peasant-style” soup – delicious, aromatic and so easy to make with its few, simple ingredients. And for basically just pennies a serving! I prepared this for the Italian New Year tradition to eat lentils and pork sausage for prosperity and good luck for the coming year. I made half a recipe and it made a good-sized pot of soup. I used tomato sauce, put up from my garden, in place of the canned tomatoes. I had to add a fairly significant amount of both water and additional chicken broth while the soup cooked, as it continued to get thicker and thicker. While many additions or changes could be made if one felt compelled to, this can be prepared with confidence just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Fantastic! I added turkey kielbasa and more chopped carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This soup was awesome! I made a few changes based on previous lentil soups I liked. I added tomato pasta, red pepper flakes and I chopped the carrot. Also I cooked the pasta on the side. And at the end I added red wine vinegar as I like something acidic with lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is the best soup. We always have some in the freezer at all times so we dont run out. If you want a little heat. I put in 1/2lb of hot sausage and 1/2lb of mild Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This was great! I followed the recipe very closely, except used 1.25 lbs of turkey italian sausage (it was pre-packaged, and I didn't know what I would have done with the rest of it if I hadn't thrown it in), dried parsley, chicken broth instead of the water, and by the end, it was so thick I didn't even add the ditalini, and it wasn't missed. I also included some red pepper flakes, but that is personal preference and it may not have been needed. It makes a LOT and we froze some. It freezes well and tasted just as delicious out of the freezer a few weeks later. (Not sure if I would recommend the freezing if we would have included the pasta.) Healthy and delicious. Even my husband, who typically only likes cream-based soups, enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
this was amazing. i was really skeptical the whole time becuase it's really not very good "looking", but it was really the best soup. My changes: 1lb habanero chicken sausage 2 stalks of celery 6 cups of water low sodium chicken broth no salt added diced tomatos 1/2 tsp curry powder red pepper flakes no pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hancoccn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
So delicious and soooo easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States