Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This soup is great! I did not have Italian sausage on hand, so I used ground turkey burger and added seasonings used to make sausage. I added 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp sage, 1/2 tsp thyme, 1/8 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper, and 1/8 tsp cayenne to the turkey meat and browned. I also used 3 chopped carrots instead of shredded, and I didn't have fresh parsley on hand, so I used dry. I only had half the amount of tomatoes and lentils on hand, so that is what I used. I did not have celery on hand either, but we were very pleased with the outcome! I do think that I will continue to make it with the turkey burger though as a healthier option. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fabulous! I didn't have celery or chicken broth and I used kielbasa instead of Italian sausage. I also added some frozen spinach. This was perfect with some hot sauce, a spoon of sour cream and some grated cheese and served with garlic bread. A new favorite. My husband just went back for seconds.m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This is so good!! I was worried my husband would not like it since it doesn't have a lot of meat in it, but he loves it! He said the lentils taste meaty. This is a great dish to stretch your food budget since lentils are cheap. It really is more like a stew because it's pretty thick especially the next day. Very flavorful, filling and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I love the sausage lentil soup from Carabba's, and even though this recipe is a bit different, it's still quite yummy. Adding shredded asiago and parmesan on top made it even better. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Very good combination I also left out 2 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I have made this soup a few times. i always add 1 lb of sausage instead of the 1/2 lb since I like a hearty meaty soup. Also I don't shred the carrots but cut them in rounds. all the other proportions were spot on. I've also used bow tie pasta, shells and macaroni noodles in place of the ditalini pasta only because I didn't have it on hand. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Excellent light dinner served with a salad! My preferences: No tomato. No pasta. Salt to taste at the end....1 TBSP listed is too much!! Used only fresh garlic and fresh herbs. I diced all the vegetables about the same size as the lentils(1/4 inch), and added 2 TBSP red bell pepper. I used Oscar Mayer Turkey Sausage-small dice, adding the sausage after the first 30 minutes. Started with 1 box broth and 10 cups water and simmered for 1 1/2 hours, I wanted the lentils to maintain their shape and not turn to mush. If you cook it longer or higher you may have to add more liquid. Romano cheese sprinkled at the end is really unnecessary, plenty of flavor going on already! Portioned into servings and froze the left over for easy quick individual meals. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I skipped the tomatoes and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I also cut up the carrots into small pieces. I used a home made chicken broth (recipe from this site) only 6 cups of water bc my pot could not hold 8 but I think the soup is better with just 6. And I didnt add the pasta, felt no need for it. Really tasty soup, filled me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States