Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Made this recipe according to the author except I used a full pound of hot Italian sausage and added a bunch of fresh spinach right before I served it. Additionally I added 1/2 teaspoon of smoked Chipotle powder. Hands down the best soup I have ever made. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was delicious! We started the soup before we realized that we didn't have any diced tomatoes in the house, but it turned out so wonderful that I don't even think you need them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Pretty good. I made as stated, and did not add the optional pasta. I did have an extra cup of chicken broth, so I used that to replace one of the cups of water. I also had closer to 3/4 pound of sausage and used all of it. It was hearty. I think the next time I would slice the carrots instead of shredding though, and add some red pepper flake as some reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Oh my goodness, I love this soup! The only changes I made were: Used sliced smoked sausage, homemade chicken stock in place of the canned broth & water, and left out the tomatoes (I love tomatoes, but I think lentil soups are better without them). The seasonings were so good, and the soup so flavorful. Oh, I also replaced the pasta with brown rice. We all love this soup and have made it a couple times, and will continue to make it often. Oh, I've also made it in my crock pot, and it turns out great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Excellent, I did'nt have sausages so use extra lean ground turkey and pumped up the spices also used a can of tomato sauce, big hit here with 2 adult health nut sons.One asked for a copy of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I used 1 lb of sausage and added 3 cloves of garlic to the onions as others had suggested. I found that there was no need for that much sausage as the soup itself is so tasty. I would also puree the diced tomatoes next time as I didn't enjoy having the larger chunks when all other vegetables were much smaller. The soup is wonderfully tasty and very easy to make. It was a crowd pleaser in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This soup was flavorful. I cooked in the slow cooker and it took forever for the lentils to get soft. It was ok the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I cooked this wonderful hearty soup & it was absolutely delicious. It'll be made again n again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain View, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
No words can express how good this is! My father says this is better than Carrabbas recipe! Only thing I added was a jar of Sofrito (Goya- tomato base) It helped with thicking the soup as it simmered. Totally delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was the best lentil soup I have ever made hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States