Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was really great. I did it as written, but did not include the pasta. Might make it in the crockpot next time. It was a great winter soup. My whole family loved it. Thanks! UPDATE: Cooked this in the crockpot. Browned the sausage, then put everything in the crockpot, but only 6 cups of water. I had cut up the veggies the night before to make it easier in the morning. Cooked on low for 8 hours. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Definitely will try this next time with the hot sausage. I used mild and added red pepper flakes, but it was too spicy. Will not do the red pepper next time. I think this was a tasty substitute for the Carabba's restaurant version which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is good, but a little bland for my taste. My family enjoyed it. I will make it again and try to add a little more flavor. I wish that I had halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
YUM. Best decision EVER making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddaisyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was amazing! loved it. I only had half a bag of lentils, but I think that was more than enough. I only added about half the chicken broth b/c of this. added more of the veggies, omitted the bay leaf and used dried parsley and a fresh tomato on top of the canned. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
our family loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great soup. I used chorizo sausage instead for color and a little kick. I sauteed the onion, celery and carrot first as well, for added flavor. I used all chicken stock and red lentils for color. This is great with toasted croutons on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTSPALMER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
absolutely loved this recipe! i am a newly wed and i used to love it when my mom made lentil soup, my husband and i love spicy food so i added spicy italian sausage, zesty diced tomatoes from del monte and a lil bit of red peppers....and only used 6 cups of water :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
A delicious and hearty soup. I used chicken sausage and red lentils. Because the red lentil cook pretty fast and turn to mush if cooked for too long, I added them last and then let the pot simmer for about 15 minutes. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This soup rocks! Amazing flavors with the mix of herbs and sausage makes every spoonful memorable! Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States