Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
make this soup all the time and I love it!! It is just as good as Carrabba's :) I use hot Italian turkey sausage (healthier!) and add a little crushed pepper to kick it up a notch. I also use all chicken broth instead of water. It's a very filling, very flavorful, and very healthy soup! Oh, and I've never cooked it for 2.5 or 3 hours....1 hour or so seems to be plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Stvnsn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Skipped tomatoes, skipped pasta. Used turkey broth. Also added 2 tsp of fennel seeds to sweet chicken italian sausage. Added 1/2 cup Quinoa since we were going for super healthy meal. Added a couple handfuls of spinach before serving. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This actually surprised me how good this was and comparable to Carraba's....I used hot Italian chicken sausage from Trader Joe's...it gave it the same flavor...but I had more or less sausage "discs" vs..crumbled sausage. Will make with a different sausage next time...but either way unbelievabley tasty. My husband said "you can make this anytime"....and I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Was good as a starting point, but a little bland for a start. Will probably try it again but try some of the suggested changes of other reviewers - like spicy sausage or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is such a great winter soup and it tastes sooo good. My husband said it was the best soup I've ever made! I used 1lb chicken sausage, 2 celery stalks, 8-10 cloves of garlic, 6 cups homemade chicken broth and 4 cups water. I sauteed the celery, carrots and onion with some garlic, and added the sausage after about 5 minutes. I only did a couple shakes of the salt shaker, so maybe about 1/8tsp of salt and I'm glad I didn't do more then that. The sausage already adds a lot of salt. It only took about 2 hours to cook and I served it with Finnish Pulla from this site. This is such a good soup! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
First let me say that I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor of the sausage was overwhelming, all I could taste was the basil and sweetness of the sausage. And I don't know if the lentils I used were the wrong kind, but they cooked into mush, and I only cooked it for an hour. I used red lentils, don't know if that made a difference, got them from a health food store that sells them in bulk. My soup turned out very thick and mushy, not what I was hoping for. I can't express enough how strong the sausage flavor was, it was not very appetizing at all. I think it would have been better if I had used ham instead. Won't make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent recipe just like Carrabbas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this with turkey sausage and schredded a beat instead of carrots. Was delicious- the whole family loved it including my 6 and 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made using pressure cooker (high pressure 8 min). Used total 6 cups liquid (broth/water). Added 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. Before serving use stick blender to make soup "thicker". Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I was looking for a recipe that would rival Carrabba's Spicy Lentil Soup. This one is so very close!! We loved it! I used hot Italian sausage and doubled the meat. I also added 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes. Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States