Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I couldn't rate it 5 stars as written, the seasoning lacked something. I upped the flavour by adding a splash of Worchestershire sauce and added some Old Bay Seasoning to round out the flavour. Be careful with the salt; with the Worchestershire and Old Bay Seasoning, I did not add the tablespoon of salt called for in the recipe since these seasonings already contain salt, as do the canned tomatoes, sausages, and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
very tasty recipe ,my husband who does not normaly like peas had two helpings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We enjoyed this tremendously! I used chicken sausage (dietary preference) but otherwise followed the recipe. We're soup people and this one is now in the "keeper" file. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is the first time I liked something well enough to write a review. We did not realize we were lentil fans. We are now! This was very easy to prepare and had an amazing flavor. I only gave the recipe 4 stars because it only needed to cook half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Amazing!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fulton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I would give this soup 10 stars. It was fantastic. Followed recipe, except I used turkey sausage and 1 tsp. of seasoned salt instead of 1 tbsp. of salt. Forgot to add the pasta, nobody missed it. Loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was the best soup! Not overly spicy, but great flavour. Neither my husband or I like food too hot, this was perfect. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
just the best..i added a little more seasonings..red pepper flakes and spicy diced tomatoes..only cooked it for an hour and a half..didn't need the pasta..my guy just loved it..will make this again..and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe! Used lite turkey sausage instead..Did add a little chili seasoning.. Otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I love this soup and will make it again - DH thought it was just ok but he hates lentils :) I meant to cook the lentils separately and blend them but I added them in the regular pan so after an hour I blended everything lol so that made it weird to him - I'll do the lentils separate next time, blend then add to the soup. I followed the recipe very close, used half sweet & half hot sausage (I usually do that) and just used 8c water w/3tbsp powdered chicken broth, there was plenty of liquid. That's the only change - except for using WW orzo for the pasta but that didn't change the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States