Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made this soup exactly according to the directions. It was vibrant and flavorful and provided a healthy way to use up my collard greens. Although my husband and I both enjoyed it, I do think the recipe needs tweaking. The lemon juice really overpowered the other flavors in the soup (this could be because I used freshly-squeezed juice), so next time I will start with 2 tablespoons and increase to taste. I will also sautee the garlic with the onions, which I think will give it a rounder, more complex taste. Finally, the consistency was a little watery for me, so I'll cut down on the water by 25% or so next time. All in all, very good with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arielle
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is absolutely delicious! I was a little leery of the cinnamon and cumin, but they were great together in this soup. The lemon juice is a must - don't forget to add some at the end! I didn't find it to be too salty at all and I'm usually sensitive to sodium. I followed previous reviewers' advice and sauteed the onion with half the garlic and sauteeed the collard greens with the other half of the garlic. Make sure you cook the collards thoroughly - they can sometimes be a little tough if undercooked. I found that this made a little more than 4 servings. I filled up 4 leftover Chinese food pint containers and froze two of them. I plan to take them for lunch to work. This is a cheap, nutritious, and delicious soup. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was yummy! Made it tonight for dinner and we gobbled up a couple of bowls. I cooked the onions & garlic together for about 5 minutes, then threw in the spices and cooked for another minute, then added the lentils and followed the rest of the recipe. Was great served with a light salad and some crusty bread. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUTHERMCREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Good... but I don't really like collards. I also used chicken broth instead of water, which i would NOT recommend doing. It was MAJORLY salty. Next time, i would stick to water and cut WAY back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was great. I am getting a box of hearty greens every week from a farm and I was starting to run out of ideas! I used my mixed braising greens for the collards, decreased the olive oil by about half, used only about 1/4 of the salt, used a little less water, and sauteed the garlic with the onions. It still turned out great for less calories and sodium =) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Yum! What a great way to use up some of my collard greens - This freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is wonderful tasty recipe! I pureed the Collard green after wilting it so kids won't know what they are eating!!! I also added whatever vegetables I had in the fridge to the mixture while pureeing it, again for the benefit of the kids. Soaking the beans overnight made a huge difference in cooking time. Although, I found the soup a little bland, but adding a little chilli sauce made an amazing meal. Kids ate up without a single complain!! Can't believe Collard could taste this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is a great soup. The recipe is for 4 servings, but it seems like 6 servings--it might depend on the size of the bunch of greens. I cooked the garlic with the onions and more garlic with the greens (am a garlic fan), and added more cumin too. I added a splash of vegetable broth to the water, and squeezed a small wedge of lemon per serving--perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I found this recipe looking for a way to use collard greens before they went bad. The only change I made was using half of the garlic when sauteeing the onions, and the other half when sauteeing the greens. I added brown rice when serving for a complete meal. Also, I used just a bit of bottled lemon juice and let my family add to their own bowls to taste. A very healthy and simple recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ace
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
To make this more as a main dish, add shredded chicken! A great way to use left over chicken and it makes this more of a meal. Also, I found this much too lemony and a bit too salty. I decreased the salt to 3 teaspoons, decreased the lemon to 3 tablespoons and added 2 teaspoons tumeric and 1 tsp of chili powder. Because I added chicken, I also added 1/2 cup more lentils and 2 cups more water (please note as you may want to decrease my recommended spice additions down if you don't add extra water/lentils). Also, I don't pre-saute the collard greens. I just throw everything including all the spices in the lentils and water as soon as it starts boiling. Also, watch your lentils! They cook fast and as soon as they are they will disintegrate in a matter of minutes. I like mine just partially dissolved and then you have to immediately remove from the heat to keep their substance. Some thought this watery but I like it a bit soupy so you can serve this over jasmine rice. Viola-you have a hearty, healthy and delicious dinner! See my custom version of this under my profile for full details on the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States