Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
excellent soup! the flavors and textures blend very nicely. i also added about a quarter cup of quinoa to thicken it up a bit for a fuller meal. i plan to use this recipe again in the winter using various greens that i've frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This is wonderful tasty recipe! I pureed the Collard green after wilting it so kids won't know what they are eating!!! I also added whatever vegetables I had in the fridge to the mixture while pureeing it, again for the benefit of the kids. Soaking the beans overnight made a huge difference in cooking time. Although, I found the soup a little bland, but adding a little chilli sauce made an amazing meal. Kids ate up without a single complain!! Can't believe Collard could taste this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made this soup exactly according to the directions. It was vibrant and flavorful and provided a healthy way to use up my collard greens. Although my husband and I both enjoyed it, I do think the recipe needs tweaking. The lemon juice really overpowered the other flavors in the soup (this could be because I used freshly-squeezed juice), so next time I will start with 2 tablespoons and increase to taste. I will also sautee the garlic with the onions, which I think will give it a rounder, more complex taste. Finally, the consistency was a little watery for me, so I'll cut down on the water by 25% or so next time. All in all, very good with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is a great way to eat collard greens. As one who is not a big fan of greens but trying to learn how to enjoy them, this is the recipe of choice. This is a recipe I'll repeat often, I look forward to trying it cold in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Yum! What a great way to use up some of my collard greens - This freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UrsMann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was great. I am getting a box of hearty greens every week from a farm and I was starting to run out of ideas! I used my mixed braising greens for the collards, decreased the olive oil by about half, used only about 1/4 of the salt, used a little less water, and sauteed the garlic with the onions. It still turned out great for less calories and sodium =) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I think the cumin and cinnamon make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow, absolutely fantastic! Even better the next day. I get a bag of organic goodies weekly (CSA - Community Supported Agriculture) and had no idea what to do with the collard greens. I thought the cumin, cinnamon, and lemon juice would be too strong but this recipe is perfect. I did cook the garlic (doubled) with the onions. This is now a regular for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Nice taste. Be sure to measure out the lemon juice to your personal taste. I, too, think I added too much when I used 1/3c. Be warned, I made this over lunchtime and everyone who was in the house while it was cooking all went outside and smelled of cumin and onion 0 and not in a nice way. I even had a person comment! I'd make this again although I'll have the windows open next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is a great soup. The recipe is for 4 servings, but it seems like 6 servings--it might depend on the size of the bunch of greens. I cooked the garlic with the onions and more garlic with the greens (am a garlic fan), and added more cumin too. I added a splash of vegetable broth to the water, and squeezed a small wedge of lemon per serving--perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States