Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This is a nice soup and a good use of collards. I'd say the essential ingredient is the lemon juice--the soup tasted much better once that was added. And definitely use red lentils instead of brown or green; they have a softer texture that works well with this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Made minor changes- sauteed 1/2 garlic with onion and other half with collards. Used brown lentils. Forgot salt altogether and added at the end- too much kosher salt and ruined the soup :( I also forgot to add lemon juice! Still the soup was good- I will give it another try- a right try this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I used brown lentils. We served this soup originally when it was hot. The cold version as leftovers was good, too! I loved the citrus and cinnamon flavor combination in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This soup was absolutely delicious! Haven't tried it cold yet, and can't wait until we have the right weather for it. I followed the ingredients faithfully, but threw in a few mushrooms because they had to get used up! I did change the method some, as I could not see why a second pan needed to be dirtied to cook the greens -- I added them raw towards the end of the first long cooking of the lentils and it was great! Thanks so much for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Fantastic!! this is going to become a common visitor to my kitchen. As others have said the spices really make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! Very her good dinner soup for the family. I doubled the liquid and added more spice to compensate for the extra water simply due to my large family. Cheap, yummy and a huge hit! Served it with a nice whole wheat crusty ciabatta bread hot from the oven. This will be a family fave for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Excellent soup! The only thing I changed was to steam the greens rather than sauteing them in more oil. Definitely try this one... and don't omit the cumin, cinnamon, garlic, or lemon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is an excellent soup, and while I'm no authority on Lebanese cooking it tasted fairly authentic to me. My hubby also loved it. I pretty much made it as-is except I only put in 1/2 the salt, sauteed half the garlic with the onions and put in the other half with the collards, and I steamed the collard greens instead of sauteing them in oil. I didn't miss the salt, and I prefer to use less if I can get away with it. I also used my immersion blender to SLIGHTLY blend the lentils before adding the collard greens and spices. This gave the soup a creamier texture, but I only did it for a few seconds as I didn't want to overdo it! I will be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I LOVED this recipe! I also took the advice from other reviews and cooked the onions and garlic together. The end result was great, but I would have liked a bit more spice. I only used one fresh lemon...Next time, I might add some chiles or ground red pepper to give it a bit of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I guess you really have to like cummin to like this recipe. That is all I could taste. I just didn't like the soup, alltogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States