Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A delicious healthy recipe with just the right spices! I followed the instructions exactly except that I only used about half the olive oil called for and I added a little extra lemon juice. Next time I may try doubling the greens too. This is a vegetarian's dream dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I'd give this 4.5 stars -- I loved how the flavors came together. It's a mild soup that's perfect for a cool/warm spring day. The only change I made was using garlic paste instead of minced (that's all I had), which I used as directed but also added when I wilted the collards. (I didn't measure how much, sorry.) Oh, and I only had and used half a lemon. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My husband and I loved it and would definitely make it again. Even my 3-year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
So delicious and healthy! Definitely saute the garlic with the onion rather than putting the garlic in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Had high hopes but this was just ok. I even used my homemade rich vegetable broth but the flavor was lacking. Needs more garlic, added carrots, celery, onion, bok choy, diced tomatoes for color. Added tumeric, bay leaf,and last I added a little lowfat smoked sausage which did the trick to improve this bland beginning soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I love this soup! I also used mostly chicken broth instead of water, and using a suggestion from my daughter, I added a 1/4 cup honey which really seemed to complement the cinnamon and tasted great. It's snowing here and I'm ready to make another pot of it for a great snowy day lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Deliciously healthy, comfort soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AboutWellbeing.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Healthy I'm sure... but, completely tasteless. If I make this again, I will use broth not water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I was not a fan of the cinnamon. The lemon juice cut the cinnamon a little, but not enough for my taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABAIGAEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I just made this and like it. I did use about a cup of chicken broth I had leftover and added a dash of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States