Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I'd give this 4.5 stars -- I loved how the flavors came together. It's a mild soup that's perfect for a cool/warm spring day. The only change I made was using garlic paste instead of minced (that's all I had), which I used as directed but also added when I wilted the collards. (I didn't measure how much, sorry.) Oh, and I only had and used half a lemon. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My husband and I loved it and would definitely make it again. Even my 3-year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
So delicious and healthy! Definitely saute the garlic with the onion rather than putting the garlic in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Had high hopes but this was just ok. I even used my homemade rich vegetable broth but the flavor was lacking. Needs more garlic, added carrots, celery, onion, bok choy, diced tomatoes for color. Added tumeric, bay leaf,and last I added a little lowfat smoked sausage which did the trick to improve this bland beginning soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I love this soup! I also used mostly chicken broth instead of water, and using a suggestion from my daughter, I added a 1/4 cup honey which really seemed to complement the cinnamon and tasted great. It's snowing here and I'm ready to make another pot of it for a great snowy day lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Deliciously healthy, comfort soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AboutWellbeing.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Healthy I'm sure... but, completely tasteless. If I make this again, I will use broth not water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I was not a fan of the cinnamon. The lemon juice cut the cinnamon a little, but not enough for my taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABAIGAEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I just made this and like it. I did use about a cup of chicken broth I had leftover and added a dash of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Delicious! The only changes I made were to substitute vegetable stock for the water and to use less salt. Very nice; thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States