Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I think this didn't turn out for me because I used yellow lentils and also to much collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahjuliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was one of the most delicious soups I have tasted. Simple, but hearty and yummy. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was pretty good, it makes a light soup with a delicate, interesting balance of flavors. My husband gives it four stars. I was looking for a healthy recipe for collard greens, but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I was looking for a way to cook up some collard greens and found this recipe. Now I make this soup almost once a week. I add a bunch more cumin to mine, omit the lemon juice and top with coconut oil and it is delicious. Sometimes I use a medley of lentils (red, green, and brown) and it always turns out great. It's also best the next day, after all the flavors have really come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Great tasting soup. I only put in 2 tsp of salt and it was still a little too salty for my taste, so next time (there surely will be a next time) I will put in less. I also only put in 1 tsp cumin and about 3 tbsp lemon juice, and I sauteed the garlic with the onion. I overcooked the lentils. Still, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This soup is Awesome... my only recommendation is to use Vegetable stock instead of water (and then leave out the salt). It makes the flavor more complex. I also divided the garlic and sauteed some with the greens... this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Amazing recipe! i may have slightly overcooked the lentils, but it was delicious nonetheless! i only added about half the amount of cinnamon, and it was perfect. I will almost certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A delicious healthy recipe with just the right spices! I followed the instructions exactly except that I only used about half the olive oil called for and I added a little extra lemon juice. Next time I may try doubling the greens too. This is a vegetarian's dream dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I'd give this 4.5 stars -- I loved how the flavors came together. It's a mild soup that's perfect for a cool/warm spring day. The only change I made was using garlic paste instead of minced (that's all I had), which I used as directed but also added when I wilted the collards. (I didn't measure how much, sorry.) Oh, and I only had and used half a lemon. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
My husband and I loved it and would definitely make it again. Even my 3-year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States