Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I just made this. I think the garlic should have been cooked with the onions to get rid of the raw garlic flavor. Beyond that, it's not a bad soup but I think there is something missing so I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was unexpectedly good. I was trying to get rid of a bag of mixed greens in my fridge before it went bad. I was nervous when I was browning the greens because they tasted bitter, so I put them in my food processor and cut them very small. It ended up blending in beautifully with the lentils, which thickened up into an almost porrige-like consistency. The cinnamon and the cumin bolstered the background flavors nicely and the lemon really brightened and balanced it with a nice finish. Not only was this yummy, it was also healthy. A great way to get your greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This soup is much better the next day after flavors blend. I used Mustard Greens instead of Collards. I gave it 4 stars because I think it needed some other color in it like carrots. Reminds me of hummus, except more watery consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I loved this soup! It was easy to make and my friend who is vegan loved it too! Thank you for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a simply fantastic soup! I made it exactly per the directions, and the complexity of flavors is wonderful. while it was cooking, the aroma was heavenly. I will say that it is a bit salty for my taste, but not to the point that it ruins the dish for me. I will be making this again but will cut back on the salt. I served it with everything flatbread crackers, and it was so hearty, filling and delicious! I made it on Sunday, refrigerated it overnight and served it last night (Monday), and the flavors were just amazing. It heats well as a leftover. Mine was not watery at all but formed a pea soup like consistency while cooking. I used Ziyad red lentils. Fantastic recipe, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Excellent soup, hearty and healthy!! I used kale because my store was out of collard greens. I added 4 minced cloves of fresh garlic when the onions were almost done being sauteed. I used 6 cups of chicken broth and omitted the 1 tbl. of salt. I put my greens into the pot with the broth (I didn't cook the greens separately) I used only 1 tsp. of cumin and only 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon - I think that ratio worked very well for us. I used 1/4 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice since others said they thought the soup was too "lemony." I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
what a nice simple soup! i don't like salty soups so i used about a quarter of the recipes amount, and i omitted the lemon juice. so with just olive oil, garlic, onion, cinnamon and cumin flavouring the soup i was amazed at how delicious it was! easy, tasty and super healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Just made this soup tonight trying to find a more creative way to use collard greens. It came out amazing! I actually ended up using the green lentils due to a tight budget. It had an amazing flavor and was really filling for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy Hampton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I thought this soup was absolutely delicious! I used green lentils with success. I added jalapeno, carrot and a potato to make it a bit more hearty. My husband suggested just a little bit less lemon juice but I loved it. I also went ahead and cooked the collard greens in the pot with the soup so that the nutrients wouldn't be lost in another pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Fast, delicious way to prepare collard greens. The red lentils nearly disintegrate making a lovely, rich broth. I used a bit less cinnamon; the lemon juice really makes for a bright finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States