Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I think this soup is fabulous - so fresh and lemony and healthy! My hubby and daughter, on the other hand, are not so thrilled with how healthy it tastes. I found that there wasn't quite enough liquid, so I used 5.5 cups of water and 1 cup of chicken stock. I too, like other reviewers, sauteed some of the garlic with the onions and some garlic with the greens. I also cut way back on the salt. I will definitely make this again - maybe when I'm alone for dinner though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
A winner! My house is always looking for good vegan recipes and this one rocks. I also added a little bit of ground cloves to the spices and added all of the spices together with the garlic and onions. Soooo good. Thanks for the brilliant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was a great recipe, I love the cinnamon and cumin - very flavorful. I didn't have any lemon juice and it was still great. Also, very easy to make which is great for a novice cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea46

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This recipe has become a staple in our home. I have substituted different greens and brown lentils and it is still terrific. I double the garlic, cooking it with the onions and with the greens. I also add the seasoning to the greens before adding to the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was so good that my husband made a batch to freeze the same day I made it for us the first time. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SketchyRecipe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was very good and very light. I sauteed some chicken and added it towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Tasty, and a healthy way to get your greens! A little heavy on the lemon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Good... but I don't really like collards. I also used chicken broth instead of water, which i would NOT recommend doing. It was MAJORLY salty. Next time, i would stick to water and cut WAY back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This soup was absolutely amazing! All the different flavours complemented each other perfectly. The only thing I would suggest is that the salt content should probably be cut down to one teaspoon or less, as otherwise the recipe is too high in sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arielle
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is absolutely delicious! I was a little leery of the cinnamon and cumin, but they were great together in this soup. The lemon juice is a must - don't forget to add some at the end! I didn't find it to be too salty at all and I'm usually sensitive to sodium. I followed previous reviewers' advice and sauteed the onion with half the garlic and sauteeed the collard greens with the other half of the garlic. Make sure you cook the collards thoroughly - they can sometimes be a little tough if undercooked. I found that this made a little more than 4 servings. I filled up 4 leftover Chinese food pint containers and froze two of them. I plan to take them for lunch to work. This is a cheap, nutritious, and delicious soup. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States