Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
a bit salty, but it is good. i used chard instead of collards and green lentiles. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is a great soup for a working couple. All you have to do when you get home is some chopping and boiling, and all of a sudden you've got a fragrant, scrumptious, healthy dinner ready. This soup also stores fantastically, so you can look forward to even tastier leftovers at work the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
My hubby and I loved this soup. Easy, healthy, delicious! Yes, definitely stick with the red lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onbutnotof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This is a nice soup and a good use of collards. I'd say the essential ingredient is the lemon juice--the soup tasted much better once that was added. And definitely use red lentils instead of brown or green; they have a softer texture that works well with this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Made minor changes- sauteed 1/2 garlic with onion and other half with collards. Used brown lentils. Forgot salt altogether and added at the end- too much kosher salt and ruined the soup :( I also forgot to add lemon juice! Still the soup was good- I will give it another try- a right try this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I used brown lentils. We served this soup originally when it was hot. The cold version as leftovers was good, too! I loved the citrus and cinnamon flavor combination in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This soup was absolutely delicious! Haven't tried it cold yet, and can't wait until we have the right weather for it. I followed the ingredients faithfully, but threw in a few mushrooms because they had to get used up! I did change the method some, as I could not see why a second pan needed to be dirtied to cook the greens -- I added them raw towards the end of the first long cooking of the lentils and it was great! Thanks so much for a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Fantastic!! this is going to become a common visitor to my kitchen. As others have said the spices really make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Absolutely delicious!! Very her good dinner soup for the family. I doubled the liquid and added more spice to compensate for the extra water simply due to my large family. Cheap, yummy and a huge hit! Served it with a nice whole wheat crusty ciabatta bread hot from the oven. This will be a family fave for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Excellent soup! The only thing I changed was to steam the greens rather than sauteing them in more oil. Definitely try this one... and don't omit the cumin, cinnamon, garlic, or lemon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States