Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Deliciously healthy, comfort soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AboutWellbeing.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Healthy I'm sure... but, completely tasteless. If I make this again, I will use broth not water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I was not a fan of the cinnamon. The lemon juice cut the cinnamon a little, but not enough for my taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABAIGAEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I just made this and like it. I did use about a cup of chicken broth I had leftover and added a dash of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Delicious! The only changes I made were to substitute vegetable stock for the water and to use less salt. Very nice; thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The flavor of this soup is wonderful! I sauteed the garlic and onion together out of habit, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Incredibly flavorful for having so few ingredients. I love salty food and this was a bit much for me, however. One tablespoon seems like an awful lot for this recipe. I will definitely reduce the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
A tasty way to use Collard Greens. I used lime juice rather than lemon. I also used half of the amount of required citrus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Cammorata
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Excellent! A perfect light lunch. I only used 3 cups of chicken broth plus one of water resulting in 4 cups of liquid all together. This made enough soup for two people to have 3 bowls between the two of them with probably two smaller bowls left, which went into the freezer. It freezes wonderfully! Because I used prefab chicken broth I left out the salt. Next time though I will change some things to suit personal taste. While the recipe is wonderful as is we didn't care for the tastes of cinnamon and lemon. I will leave both of those out next time. Also I believe another reviewer pointed out that cooking lentils so long will turn them to mush. This happened to me and personally I enjoyed the creaminess that the mushy lentils added to the soup, but I am eager to try cooking the lentils for less time to taste the difference. Also, my collards were already cooked, with a hint of sugar and vinegar, and leftover from another dish which made prep much easier and didn't result in dirtying two pans. Cooking the onions and garlic together in oil first also helps the flavor. I think leftover wild rice would be an interesting addition to this soup, and I intend to try the idea in the future. All in all, this is a wonderful, excellent dish, that is easy to play with, and a great use for collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
A simple and clean taste..very filling and very healthy! The cumin and cinnamon were a new combination for me, one which smelled and tasted fabulous. Used kale instead of collard greens for extra nutrition, but am looking forward to trying it again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Recipe is delicious! 3 things I changed: 1) saute the garlic for 1-2 minutes with the onion to tame strong garlic taste, 2) throw the greens directly into the soup without sauteing them (this step is unnecessary since the soup will wilt the greens without the use of oil.) 3) red lentils cook very quickly so you may want to reduce total cooking time to under 15 minutes or they will turn to complete mush. Or use a different type of lentil (although you may need to increase cooking time accordingly.) I have made this with many different types of greens - it doesn't have to be collards. Tonight I am using mustard greens. It's my favorite soup and favorite way to use greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States