Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Just made this soup tonight trying to find a more creative way to use collard greens. It came out amazing! I actually ended up using the green lentils due to a tight budget. It had an amazing flavor and was really filling for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy Hampton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I thought this soup was absolutely delicious! I used green lentils with success. I added jalapeno, carrot and a potato to make it a bit more hearty. My husband suggested just a little bit less lemon juice but I loved it. I also went ahead and cooked the collard greens in the pot with the soup so that the nutrients wouldn't be lost in another pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Fast, delicious way to prepare collard greens. The red lentils nearly disintegrate making a lovely, rich broth. I used a bit less cinnamon; the lemon juice really makes for a bright finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
The lemon flavor was just too strong for my taste. I also felt like some vegetable broth or bouillon needed to be added with the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Amazing! Such a unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
The soup is very good they way it is. However, I made this mainly because I had collards on hand and needed a recipe. I am wondering about the calories?? Is there really 307 calories per serving?? What is the serving size?? 1 cup? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Everybody liked except for the kids. I added smoked turkey, though. They might like it better with sausage or no meat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made it as written. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Great Recipe! I added some chopped sweet potatoes and then at the end, threw in 1 can of garbanzo beans. I also was a bit short on collards so I threw in some mustard greens as well and it turned out wonderful. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Soooo yummy! I used Kale instead of Collards, added a bay leaf and mixed it all with an emersion blender at the end.. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Starnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States