Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Amazing flavor in this soup and an excellent way to eat some nutritious greens. There was a little too much salt for my taste, so I dropped it down to 2 teaspoons instead of 1Tablespoon. Red lentils make this a more creamy dish than using green. (which I've done before and is still tasty) It is a great vegetarian recipe and filling from the lentils. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ace
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
To make this more as a main dish, add shredded chicken! A great way to use left over chicken and it makes this more of a meal. Also, I found this much too lemony and a bit too salty. I decreased the salt to 3 teaspoons, decreased the lemon to 3 tablespoons and added 2 teaspoons tumeric and 1 tsp of chili powder. Because I added chicken, I also added 1/2 cup more lentils and 2 cups more water (please note as you may want to decrease my recommended spice additions down if you don't add extra water/lentils). Also, I don't pre-saute the collard greens. I just throw everything including all the spices in the lentils and water as soon as it starts boiling. Also, watch your lentils! They cook fast and as soon as they are they will disintegrate in a matter of minutes. I like mine just partially dissolved and then you have to immediately remove from the heat to keep their substance. Some thought this watery but I like it a bit soupy so you can serve this over jasmine rice. Viola-you have a hearty, healthy and delicious dinner! See my custom version of this under my profile for full details on the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I just made this. I think the garlic should have been cooked with the onions to get rid of the raw garlic flavor. Beyond that, it's not a bad soup but I think there is something missing so I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was unexpectedly good. I was trying to get rid of a bag of mixed greens in my fridge before it went bad. I was nervous when I was browning the greens because they tasted bitter, so I put them in my food processor and cut them very small. It ended up blending in beautifully with the lentils, which thickened up into an almost porrige-like consistency. The cinnamon and the cumin bolstered the background flavors nicely and the lemon really brightened and balanced it with a nice finish. Not only was this yummy, it was also healthy. A great way to get your greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This soup is much better the next day after flavors blend. I used Mustard Greens instead of Collards. I gave it 4 stars because I think it needed some other color in it like carrots. Reminds me of hummus, except more watery consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I loved this soup! It was easy to make and my friend who is vegan loved it too! Thank you for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a simply fantastic soup! I made it exactly per the directions, and the complexity of flavors is wonderful. while it was cooking, the aroma was heavenly. I will say that it is a bit salty for my taste, but not to the point that it ruins the dish for me. I will be making this again but will cut back on the salt. I served it with everything flatbread crackers, and it was so hearty, filling and delicious! I made it on Sunday, refrigerated it overnight and served it last night (Monday), and the flavors were just amazing. It heats well as a leftover. Mine was not watery at all but formed a pea soup like consistency while cooking. I used Ziyad red lentils. Fantastic recipe, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Excellent soup, hearty and healthy!! I used kale because my store was out of collard greens. I added 4 minced cloves of fresh garlic when the onions were almost done being sauteed. I used 6 cups of chicken broth and omitted the 1 tbl. of salt. I put my greens into the pot with the broth (I didn't cook the greens separately) I used only 1 tsp. of cumin and only 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon - I think that ratio worked very well for us. I used 1/4 cup of fresh squeezed lemon juice since others said they thought the soup was too "lemony." I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
what a nice simple soup! i don't like salty soups so i used about a quarter of the recipes amount, and i omitted the lemon juice. so with just olive oil, garlic, onion, cinnamon and cumin flavouring the soup i was amazed at how delicious it was! easy, tasty and super healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Just made this soup tonight trying to find a more creative way to use collard greens. It came out amazing! I actually ended up using the green lentils due to a tight budget. It had an amazing flavor and was really filling for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy Hampton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States