Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Awesome vegetarian soup! I was looking for a way to use the collard greens that came in our produce box, and this soup was great. I didn't add the lemon juice to the soup, and instead served it with lemon wedges on the side so each person could squeeze their own. -great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This soup is full of flavor!!! It is an interesting infusion of flavor that you must try. TO SUM THIS SOUP UP: It is clean food that's full of fiber and vitamins. Also low on the Glycemic scale, making it ideal for a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERESAANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I found this recipe looking for a way to use collard greens before they went bad. The only change I made was using half of the garlic when sauteeing the onions, and the other half when sauteeing the greens. I added brown rice when serving for a complete meal. Also, I used just a bit of bottled lemon juice and let my family add to their own bowls to taste. A very healthy and simple recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This soup is fabulous! I added lemon juice to taste stopping at 3 tablespoons. Very fragrant and flavorful. I added a potato and it was a good addition. Serve with hot sauce. Yum!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is a great soup. The recipe is for 4 servings, but it seems like 6 servings--it might depend on the size of the bunch of greens. I cooked the garlic with the onions and more garlic with the greens (am a garlic fan), and added more cumin too. I added a splash of vegetable broth to the water, and squeezed a small wedge of lemon per serving--perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Nice taste. Be sure to measure out the lemon juice to your personal taste. I, too, think I added too much when I used 1/3c. Be warned, I made this over lunchtime and everyone who was in the house while it was cooking all went outside and smelled of cumin and onion 0 and not in a nice way. I even had a person comment! I'd make this again although I'll have the windows open next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow, absolutely fantastic! Even better the next day. I get a bag of organic goodies weekly (CSA - Community Supported Agriculture) and had no idea what to do with the collard greens. I thought the cumin, cinnamon, and lemon juice would be too strong but this recipe is perfect. I did cook the garlic (doubled) with the onions. This is now a regular for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I think the cumin and cinnamon make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was great. I am getting a box of hearty greens every week from a farm and I was starting to run out of ideas! I used my mixed braising greens for the collards, decreased the olive oil by about half, used only about 1/4 of the salt, used a little less water, and sauteed the garlic with the onions. It still turned out great for less calories and sodium =) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Yum! What a great way to use up some of my collard greens - This freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UrsMann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States