Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Good... but I don't really like collards. I also used chicken broth instead of water, which i would NOT recommend doing. It was MAJORLY salty. Next time, i would stick to water and cut WAY back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This soup was absolutely amazing! All the different flavours complemented each other perfectly. The only thing I would suggest is that the salt content should probably be cut down to one teaspoon or less, as otherwise the recipe is too high in sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arielle
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is absolutely delicious! I was a little leery of the cinnamon and cumin, but they were great together in this soup. The lemon juice is a must - don't forget to add some at the end! I didn't find it to be too salty at all and I'm usually sensitive to sodium. I followed previous reviewers' advice and sauteed the onion with half the garlic and sauteeed the collard greens with the other half of the garlic. Make sure you cook the collards thoroughly - they can sometimes be a little tough if undercooked. I found that this made a little more than 4 servings. I filled up 4 leftover Chinese food pint containers and froze two of them. I plan to take them for lunch to work. This is a cheap, nutritious, and delicious soup. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
surprisingly delicious. don't overlook this recipe! it's really good with a little parmesan cheese. i used brown/green lentils and it was sooo good. i agree with a previous post that it freezes well. this makes me happy to be alive...seriously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I used less lemon and next time I would decrease the salt, as well. I added some instant potato flakes to thicken it a bit and to absorb some of the salt. It was fine, but I would play with the recipe some the next time. I would chop the collards fine rather than slicing them, for one thing. I might use curry powder rather than the cumin and cinnamon. Or use brown lentils rather than red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This was yummy! Made it tonight for dinner and we gobbled up a couple of bowls. I cooked the onions & garlic together for about 5 minutes, then threw in the spices and cooked for another minute, then added the lentils and followed the rest of the recipe. Was great served with a light salad and some crusty bread. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUTHERMCREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, Maine, USA
Living In: Bath, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Awesome vegetarian soup! I was looking for a way to use the collard greens that came in our produce box, and this soup was great. I didn't add the lemon juice to the soup, and instead served it with lemon wedges on the side so each person could squeeze their own. -great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This soup is full of flavor!!! It is an interesting infusion of flavor that you must try. TO SUM THIS SOUP UP: It is clean food that's full of fiber and vitamins. Also low on the Glycemic scale, making it ideal for a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERESAANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I found this recipe looking for a way to use collard greens before they went bad. The only change I made was using half of the garlic when sauteeing the onions, and the other half when sauteeing the greens. I added brown rice when serving for a complete meal. Also, I used just a bit of bottled lemon juice and let my family add to their own bowls to taste. A very healthy and simple recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This soup is fabulous! I added lemon juice to taste stopping at 3 tablespoons. Very fragrant and flavorful. I added a potato and it was a good addition. Serve with hot sauce. Yum!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States