Lentil and Cactus Soup (Mom's Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe! The lentils and cactus go amazingly well together. I omitted the potatoes since I didn't have any and used more cactus than what the recipe called for (since my partner and I really enjoy it). I also didn't have any chicken bouillon handy so I substituted with some Maggie's Seasoning. When boiling the cactus, I added a couple of dry bay leaves and salt to give it more flavor. I added the cactus to the onions then threw in the tomatoes. And to give this soup an extra kick, I sprinkled some ground cayenne pepper along with the cumin! Turned out great, I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pacoima, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chiquitamelanie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. I omitted the potatoes and added one small Mexican squash instead. I only used a half pound of lentils also as there are only five of us to feed. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquitamelanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This soup was delicious. I used yams instead of white potatoes which gave it some better nutrition, color and a little sweetness. I would recommend checking the lentils after 20 minutes, they cooked faster than the hour that was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe. The only thing that I change is I add more cumin..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfranks315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Love this recipe! I make a big pot at the beginning of the week and have lunch for days! Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great taste. Made it without the potatoes and added cilantro towards the end for flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
knorr makes chipotloe w adobo boullion cubes add jalepeno and one of the cubes yummy provecho serve with warm corn tortilla s and lime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Thanks!!!! Made it exactly as written even though I was only feeding three men, myself and my two small children and it was just enough. Everyone had seconds, a few had thirds. Lol. Changing this recipe would be akin to butchering it. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The group thought it was delicious! We used 2 tbsp tomato paste instead of fresh tomato. We also used pickled cactus which added spiciness to it and we enjoyed the texture of the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Just made this soup.. even though it may sound horrible..it is delicious! I added a small can of tomato sauce in mine , that only added more flavor and hardly ANY Calories.. I did only 1/2 pound of lentils and cut the recipe in half since it is only my husband and myself.. It will be delicious with a piece of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States