Lentil and Cactus Soup (Mom's Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chiquitamelanie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe. I omitted the potatoes and added one small Mexican squash instead. I only used a half pound of lentils also as there are only five of us to feed. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquitamelanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
knorr makes chipotloe w adobo boullion cubes add jalepeno and one of the cubes yummy provecho serve with warm corn tortilla s and lime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Just made this soup.. even though it may sound horrible..it is delicious! I added a small can of tomato sauce in mine , that only added more flavor and hardly ANY Calories.. I did only 1/2 pound of lentils and cut the recipe in half since it is only my husband and myself.. It will be delicious with a piece of cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Thanks!!!! Made it exactly as written even though I was only feeding three men, myself and my two small children and it was just enough. Everyone had seconds, a few had thirds. Lol. Changing this recipe would be akin to butchering it. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The group thought it was delicious! We used 2 tbsp tomato paste instead of fresh tomato. We also used pickled cactus which added spiciness to it and we enjoyed the texture of the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe! The lentils and cactus go amazingly well together. I omitted the potatoes since I didn't have any and used more cactus than what the recipe called for (since my partner and I really enjoy it). I also didn't have any chicken bouillon handy so I substituted with some Maggie's Seasoning. When boiling the cactus, I added a couple of dry bay leaves and salt to give it more flavor. I added the cactus to the onions then threw in the tomatoes. And to give this soup an extra kick, I sprinkled some ground cayenne pepper along with the cumin! Turned out great, I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pacoima, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Everything is fine except the addition of the chicken bouillon. it takes from the taste of the lentils. I like to boil the lentils with salt and then add cilantro onion and tomato and that's it. the measurements/time are perfect though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Next time I will add fewer potatoes and more cactus, but I will keep everything else the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This soup was delicious. I used yams instead of white potatoes which gave it some better nutrition, color and a little sweetness. I would recommend checking the lentils after 20 minutes, they cooked faster than the hour that was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I would have given this a higher rating, except I used fresh cactus fronds. I had to look up how to cook them, and they turned out really mucilaginous. Next time I'll try jarred cactus. The lentils were really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States