Lentil Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I have been making this soup for years and absolutely LOVE it. I forget the name of the cookbook it comes from, but it's definitely a family favorite. I make just a few changes. I use olive oil instead of butter and only 2 T or so. I don't think it affects the taste at all and is less saturated fat. I also saute carrots and celery along with the onion. I use a little more water/broth - or add to it as needed as it cooks. I usually use canned garden tomatoes if I have them. I dump them in and then use the hand blender to lightly puree them in the pan. Saves a step. Also, I have never added the nutmeg - I don't think the original recipe from my cookbook called for that. I'm such a huge fan of the flavors of the garlic, wine, and cloves, that I think I will forgo trying the nutmeg. This is one of the tastiest lentil soups I've ever had. Play around with the proportions to get it how you like it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Wow, I was really surprised by this soup. The flavor is mellow and satisfying. I used canned petite diced tomatoes and skipped the food processor step and used only 1 cup of lentils, since I'm not a fan but have been trying to use legumes more. Don't be afraid to try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pyong-Taek City, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
turned out great. the cloves give it a really nice favor. I added a little extra wine and it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
My search for a low-cal lentil recipe led me to this one. I must say, I was a little disappointed at first...nutmeg, cloves, red wine..? But, after it sat a while, I was scarfing it down. Very mediterranean, not just 'a flair'. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent recipe! The only thing I changed was to use extra virgin olive oil instead of butter, and to add some balsamic vinegar. At one point I did get nervous that there was too much going on in the pot for it to turn out good...but after simmering for awhile & adding some balsamic vinegar, it was delicious!!! Everyone asked for seconds. GREAT RECIPE!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammamoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockaway Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I liked it pretty well but my husband didn't. It was quick, inexpensive, easy, and healthy, but possibly not fantastic enough to make again. (Then again, I rarely make the same thing twice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this soup tonight-maybe after it mellows overnight I'll "up" the rating. I used a 28oz can of pureed tomatroes, so skipped the blender step. Maybe there would have been more liquid if I used the tomatoes. As it was, it was 'way too thick. I added at least 2 cups of water and probably another 1/2 to 3/4 cup wine. I only had whole cloves, so put some in an empty tea bag and let that cook before fishing it out. Also added more nutmeg and garlic and a few shakes of allspice for good measure. The taste is fine, it is just the fact that it had to be thinned out so much that caused the lower rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I am apparently the only reviewer so far that did not enjoy the amount of cloves in this recipe. The recipe called for 1/4 tsp and I didn't even add that much, worrying that it would be too strong. I was right - it was all I could smell or taste. I even added an extra can of diced tomatoes, another 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, about 2 tsp each of garlic and onion powder, and and entire extra carton of chicken broth, but it didn't help the overpowering clove taste/smell one bit. Things were even worse the next day. Gross. I'm bummed I wasted the ingredients on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Super good! We served it in our fanciest dishes with sourdough bread. It was so nice. I traded rosemary, thyme, and paprika for the nutmeg/cloves. It made it more savory rather than holiday tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Really great! I used diced tomatoes instead of the whole canned tomatoes... this came out really thick, like a stew. It was hearty, comforting, and tasty. The lentils and tomatoes were really mild, but the addition of cloves and nutmeg added a complex flavor. Best of all, this inexpensive recipe will give me leftovers for weeks to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States