Lentil Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Really good but the rice and lentils needed to be cooked a lot longer. You could try this in peppers too! Will make again I'll just do it a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2000
I topped the tomatoes with feta. They had an excellent taste and were very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delicious. I too added feta and pine nuts. About the only other thing I would add would be some cumin in the rice/lentil mixture. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Very good! I recommend cooking the lentils/rice for 15 minutes on the stovetop so they aren't crunchy, but not more or they will be mushy. Firm tomatoes made scooping out the middles easy, and the cilanto substitution was quite good. Additionally, I added Goat Cheese and Pine Nuts, tented with foil except for last 3 minutes to brown nuts and slightly melt cheese, and left the "caps" off. Yummy, nutty flavor with the mildness of the cheese made this an elegant side dish for the fish I served it with! Would be a good main dish, but Hubby generally likes more than veggies for supper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
It was a great hit with my family.My daughter is vegetarian and she loved it.Also my husband loved it who is not a vegetarian.I advise it to anyone who loves tomatoes.Also I did not use the mint but,I did add feta cheese to the rice and I laid a slice of provlone over the top of the tomato under its hat.And I added sliced fresh mushrooms to the tomato sauce you use from the insides of the tomatoes.I also found if you use firm tomatoes it is easier.Enjoy as my family did.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
This was very tasty. The lentils gave a nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was ok but nothing outstanding. I used green lentils - the store didn't have red - and I added a little bit of garlic to the stuffing as it was a rather bland. I don't think the mint was a good addition - it didn't complement the other flavors terribly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
This was a good way to use up extra tomatoes from our garden, but this recipe wasn't a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Very easy to make and flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
My husband and I both enjoyed this dish although we both felt it was a little bland as written. I cooked the dried lentils in vegetable broth, used brown rice, and added more minced garlic and some balsamic vinegar to the tomato mixture that went in the bottom of the baking dish. I served this over raw baby spinach so the sauce and heat from the tomato wilted the spinach quite nicely. Next time, I'd probably add some spice to kick it up a bit (garam marsala, probably, or chili powder). Thanks for a healthy, tasty dish, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States