Lentil Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Awesome, and topping with feta is a really great tip. Super easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
next time check lentils to make sure they don't overcook, and maybe add more lentils, less rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Very good. I used quinoa instead of rice, scaled the recipe down to 2 servings with 1 tomato (essentially double stuffing, half tomato), and baked in toaster oven minus the "hat". Love the mint, it goes wonderfully with the ingredients. What I didn't like was the tomato middles/garlic "sauce". Just toss the tomato insides and drizzle a tiny amount of oil on top of the stuffed tomato before baking. Use quinoa! It makes recipe is so much better than boring (not healthy) white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Like someone suggested before, I replaced the mint with cilantro and added some cumin to the stuffing. Both my husband and I enjoy it and we eat it pretty regularly now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was very good and easy to prepare. I used quinoa instead of rice; I cooked it with the lentils for 15 minutes, and the texture was perfect. The stuffing was slightly sweet, balancing the acidity of the tomatoes perfectly. I used extra garlic in the chopped tomatoes, and I put a spoonful over the stuffing before baking. Although stuffing the tomatoes makes a nice presentation, next time, I'll chop them and mix everything together, and I'll make some extra stuffing, just because it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Excellent Recipe! It's easy to modify (size wise- if you want a 'single' serving) and oh-wow does it taste good. Perfect for my vegetarian friends. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was very good, I never thought of stuffing a tomato with anything other than rice or meat. The only change I made was I could not find red lentils and I used regular but it was still yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was ok but nothing outstanding. I used green lentils - the store didn't have red - and I added a little bit of garlic to the stuffing as it was a rather bland. I don't think the mint was a good addition - it didn't complement the other flavors terribly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Good! You can pretty much add anything to this. Make sure to just cook the rice and lentils according to their package; brands vary their cooking times a lot so the recipe's instructions may not be suitable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Delicious. I too added feta and pine nuts. About the only other thing I would add would be some cumin in the rice/lentil mixture. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States