Lentil Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was just okay, the lentils have to be cooked completely before stuffing which takes a lot longer then rice, maybe 20 minutes, I would also use more. I used oil instead of butter, the reason it says generously season with salt and pepper is because it's missing spices, I'll have to experiment more with it next time but salt and pepper alone doesn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stuffsalush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
YUM. I added garam masala as well, and feta cheese, and cooked the lentils/rice longer than 10 minutes. These were even better the first day. The leftover tomato got put on some wheat toast with mozzarella cheese for bruschetta. MM, mm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tega Cay, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I really liked the idea of this recipe, but the final product was bland. Granted, I tend to prefer pretty spicy foods, but it seemed to lack flavor. Being Indian, I added some garam masala (a traditional seasoning) and crushed red pepper flakes, but next time I will try feta as suggested by some other reviewers (perhaps flavored feta!). I substituted cilantro for mint and liked the change. Overall, I think it's a good recipe with some modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
loved it! super easy & tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Outstanding! We simmered lentils & rice in vegetarian broth rather than water. Had to cook the rice and lentils longer than 10 minutes. This is a do again, and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustNora

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Yum! This was so good, we will definitely be making it again. I hate the taste/texture of cooked tomatoes, but these came out perfectly. Not mushy at all, and so delicious!! We did make one change as I forgot the lentils when I went shopping (oops!) we used black beans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
very good recipe. I used a few large tomatoes instead of med ones and brown rice. I also sprinkled low fat mozz cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiesp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This could have been good but like previous people have said, the rice and the lentils need more stovetop time as they weren't done after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eryn Willard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
What a great dish! I made minor modifications... I doubled the stuffing recipe. I used brown rice and cooked it for 15 minutes before adding the lentils. I prepared the entire dish in the morning then pulled it out in the evening to bake (took longer since it was cold from the fridge). I served it as a main dish with steamed cabbage on the side and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Deeeelicious! We removed the mint and added basil. Also, couldn't resist adding some goat cheese -the entree would not be the same without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States