Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was great ! I left out the potatoes because there was enough carbs, and instead of polish sausage, I used italian sausage (oven cooked). Fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe makes a large pot of thick stew. If you don't like lentils don't try it. Keeps well. The sausage really adds a ton of flavor. I did omit the onion (picky eaters). I'll be making this soup again sometime this winter:) Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I spent a semester studying in Seville, Spain, and the woman I lived with made sopa de lentejas almost every week. I wanted to try my hand at a lentil soup, and this recipe brought back tops of memories from my days in Spain! A previous reviewer was correct in saying the soup needed a few more hours, so that the lentils would get tender and the flavors would mixed. I transfered the soup to a crock pot, let it stew for a few hours, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Very good! My husband lived in Spain for four years and had bugged me for ages to get a pressure cooker and make lentils. I finally got the pressure cooker and used it for this recipe. My husband said that it didn't taste like what he had in Spain, though it was "kind of similar", but he still loved it. He keeps asking me when we are having this again. I threw everything in together and pressure cooked for 30 minutes. I will probably do a little less time next time -- maybe 20 minutes -- as it did turn out a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This stew turned out wonderfully! I used Turkey Kielbasa to make it a little lighter and the sausage flavour was infused throughout. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I loved this soup. I wasn't quite sure how to use lentils but I thought this was a great start. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYYY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My fiancee is from Spain and though this recipe is quite different then his mom's it still deserves 5 stars. So delicious! I prepare it almost exactly as stated in the recipe except I double the onions out of personal preference. As other reviewers have noted, the recipe requires about an hour of simmering in order to get the lentils soft throughout. It's become a regular in our household and though it requires a bit of time to cook, it requires very little prep time or babysitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Usually, I won't rate a recipe if I've changed it at all, but I made a few tweaks to this one, which was probably wonderful as listed. First, since some people thought the lentils were hard, I started them simmering in chicken bullion while I prepped the rest. I also chopped and added a small bunch of kale I had to use up and a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. We were thrilled and couldn't stop eating this. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
i made a black eyed peas version of this stew. i used fresh plum and cherry tomatoes instead of canned. i also added some cumin, chili powder, and paprika. and i did cook it for about 4 hours. it was perfect. DELICIOUS! 1/31/12 So I just re-visited this and this time I added celery, some coriander, cayenne pepper, a can of cream of chicken and a can of chicken broth, chopped carrots... I left out the sausage this time, but I bet apple chicken sausage would have been nice... As the soup was finishing up, I mashed around the lentils a little with a ladle and ended up getting a bit thicker consistency, which I loved. I still really liked it and actually, it was even more delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emp07

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is amazing. I was looking forward to the even better taste of day 2, but there may not be leftovers. I tooknad ice of other reviewers and starts by simmering the lentils while cutting up the vegetables. But then had to run errands, so finished in the slow cooker for two hours on high. My variations: used turkey kielbasa, fresh cut tomatoes and added fresh parsley and cilantro since I had them on hand. Also added carrots. A nice taste from the get go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States