Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
The flavor was really good (better leftover) but the cooking time is off. I think this should be cooked for 3-4 hours because the lentils were really not done after 20minutes. Plus then the flavors could really mix in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I spent a semester studying in Seville, Spain, and the woman I lived with made sopa de lentejas almost every week. I wanted to try my hand at a lentil soup, and this recipe brought back tops of memories from my days in Spain! A previous reviewer was correct in saying the soup needed a few more hours, so that the lentils would get tender and the flavors would mixed. I transfered the soup to a crock pot, let it stew for a few hours, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This was great! Hearty and easy - everything goes in one pot. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This stew turned out wonderfully! I used Turkey Kielbasa to make it a little lighter and the sausage flavour was infused throughout. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really good recipe and defintely better the next day. The only change I made was to add an additional can of tomato sauce & some Italian seasoning, just to give it a bit more flavor. My son is a picky eater and he loved it. My husband wasnt fond of the lentils (there are quite a lot) so when I make it again, I would probably do half as many lentils & maybe add some carrots. Thanks for the delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My fiancee is from Spain and though this recipe is quite different then his mom's it still deserves 5 stars. So delicious! I prepare it almost exactly as stated in the recipe except I double the onions out of personal preference. As other reviewers have noted, the recipe requires about an hour of simmering in order to get the lentils soft throughout. It's become a regular in our household and though it requires a bit of time to cook, it requires very little prep time or babysitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe makes a large pot of thick stew. If you don't like lentils don't try it. Keeps well. The sausage really adds a ton of flavor. I did omit the onion (picky eaters). I'll be making this soup again sometime this winter:) Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I loved this soup. I wasn't quite sure how to use lentils but I thought this was a great start. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYYY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great basic recipe, I just spiked it up a bit with extra garlic,1/2 red pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon of Dijon mustard. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I cooked mine for at least three hours or more and i added a couple of spoonfuls of chicken bouillon which made it way yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States