Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
The flavor was really good (better leftover) but the cooking time is off. I think this should be cooked for 3-4 hours because the lentils were really not done after 20minutes. Plus then the flavors could really mix in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I spent a semester studying in Seville, Spain, and the woman I lived with made sopa de lentejas almost every week. I wanted to try my hand at a lentil soup, and this recipe brought back tops of memories from my days in Spain! A previous reviewer was correct in saying the soup needed a few more hours, so that the lentils would get tender and the flavors would mixed. I transfered the soup to a crock pot, let it stew for a few hours, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This was great! Hearty and easy - everything goes in one pot. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNCOOK2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This stew turned out wonderfully! I used Turkey Kielbasa to make it a little lighter and the sausage flavour was infused throughout. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really good recipe and defintely better the next day. The only change I made was to add an additional can of tomato sauce & some Italian seasoning, just to give it a bit more flavor. My son is a picky eater and he loved it. My husband wasnt fond of the lentils (there are quite a lot) so when I make it again, I would probably do half as many lentils & maybe add some carrots. Thanks for the delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My fiancee is from Spain and though this recipe is quite different then his mom's it still deserves 5 stars. So delicious! I prepare it almost exactly as stated in the recipe except I double the onions out of personal preference. As other reviewers have noted, the recipe requires about an hour of simmering in order to get the lentils soft throughout. It's become a regular in our household and though it requires a bit of time to cook, it requires very little prep time or babysitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This recipe makes a large pot of thick stew. If you don't like lentils don't try it. Keeps well. The sausage really adds a ton of flavor. I did omit the onion (picky eaters). I'll be making this soup again sometime this winter:) Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I loved this soup. I wasn't quite sure how to use lentils but I thought this was a great start. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYYY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Great basic recipe, I just spiked it up a bit with extra garlic,1/2 red pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon of Dijon mustard. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I cooked mine for at least three hours or more and i added a couple of spoonfuls of chicken bouillon which made it way yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States