Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
harty... could be spicier, but used the wrong kind of sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Delicious! Like other reviewers, I think it needs a lot more time. I added some chopped carrots. I also cooked the onions and carrots in a little olive oil before adding the other ingredients. It's almost like Grandma used to make! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was great ! I left out the potatoes because there was enough carbs, and instead of polish sausage, I used italian sausage (oven cooked). Fantastic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I thought this was a good, hearty meal. Our guests said it reminded them of a stay in Chile, where lentils were often used. I followed the recipe, but instead of covering with only water, I added a can of reduced sodium beef broth and 1/2 cup of dry red wine, then enough water to cover. This made the soup very flavorful. I also added quite a bit of salt and pepper, which I think improved the flavor. In addition, I added about 1/2 cup of carrots, since I had them in the house. I use turkey keilbasa for a healthier meal, the flavor was good, but the texture was a little rubbery. Next time I will use Polish sausage. Yes, the cooking time should be increased, but doesn't need to be several hours. I thought the soup was perfect with about 50 minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My fiancee is from Spain and though this recipe is quite different then his mom's it still deserves 5 stars. So delicious! I prepare it almost exactly as stated in the recipe except I double the onions out of personal preference. As other reviewers have noted, the recipe requires about an hour of simmering in order to get the lentils soft throughout. It's become a regular in our household and though it requires a bit of time to cook, it requires very little prep time or babysitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was really tasty, I made some of the changes suggested by the other reviewers, I added the lentils at the beginning so they cooked a little longer and used some turkey sausage instead. I also used tyme, entirely by accident because I wasn't paying attention but turned out great! And there is tons, I think I'll be eating this all week. http://single-girl-gourmet.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Fast and tasty. The only changes I made were to add an eight ounce can of plain tomato sauce and substituting chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I spent a semester studying in Seville, Spain, and the woman I lived with made sopa de lentejas almost every week. I wanted to try my hand at a lentil soup, and this recipe brought back tops of memories from my days in Spain! A previous reviewer was correct in saying the soup needed a few more hours, so that the lentils would get tender and the flavors would mixed. I transfered the soup to a crock pot, let it stew for a few hours, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Great Hearty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really good recipe and defintely better the next day. The only change I made was to add an additional can of tomato sauce & some Italian seasoning, just to give it a bit more flavor. My son is a picky eater and he loved it. My husband wasnt fond of the lentils (there are quite a lot) so when I make it again, I would probably do half as many lentils & maybe add some carrots. Thanks for the delicious recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States