Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Based on comments here, I made some substitutions and I think this is the best lentil soup I've had in a long time. I added another 2 carrots, I doubled all the spices. I added 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes, I bought a can of 28oz. crushed tomatoes. I added the 14.5 oz. that the recipe called for, then used the rest mixed with 4 cups of broth and water to make the 8 cups of "water". I used 1 cup brown and 1 cup red lentils, I used 3 T. of lemon juice instead of vinegar, and I added about 3 Tablespoons of port. I guess that's a lot of changes, but trust me, people can't stop eating it. It's really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2084 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St.Thomas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This is a phenomenal recipe. Having lived in Spain and enjoyed true lentil soup, I thought I'd never again appreciate an american version. Boy was I wrong. My adaptations to this great recipe include: 4 carrots, 2 bay leaves, 4 garlic cloves, 8 cups chicken broth instead of water. In the last 30 minutes I add 4 cups spinach, three potatos, and smoked sausage. I blend half and then add back for a really nice texture. This is served great with parmesean cheese and garlic/ mozerella bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1717 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is great lentil soup. My husband said that it was better than any he had had. I added extra garlic and spinach and omitted the olive oil to cut fat. Also, have tried wine vinegar and balsamic, balsamic is best. Very "meaty" and tasty, I would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
986 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This is my second review of this recipe (after making my third batch of soup). I neglected to mention in my first review that I used Stewed Tomatoes (more flavor). Because of this, I did not add salt. Also, I used 1/2 of a frozen package of spinach. I saved the rest for another batch. We served the last batch over thin spaghetti and found it to be a complete, filling lunch/dinner. Also, sprinkling with parmesan cheese as noted in other reviews was very good. I notice that my first review got eliminated. The point I made there was to use Herb Ox Low Sodiumn Powder Bouillon rather than the regular bouillon (5 grams of sodiuim as opposed to over 1000). I also put in a couple of dashes of hot chili sauce for a little extra flavor and oomph!!! Also, I have a Vita Mix and chopped all of the vegetables in it -- quite a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
411 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This lentil soup is excellent! Definately one of the best I have found, although I did have to make some changes to suit my tastes. I used 4 garlic cloves instead of 2, added 1 teaspoon each of cumin and curry powder and used 2 cups chicken broth and 6 cups water. Turned out very good and flavorful. I also did not see any reason to use so much oil, so I cut that back to 1 tablespoon and that was plenty to saute the vegetables. The addition of spinach is wonderful and the use of balsamic vinegar really makes a differance. Wonderful soup recipe that I will keep on using!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Very good. I did decrease the oil to 1 tblsp. and added about 1/2 tsp. cumin. It made about 10 cups of soup. Weight Watchers: (with 1 tblsp. oil) this works out to be 2.5 points per cup in my calculations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I made this recipe and scaled it for 42 since it was going to be a main dish for our school's teacherstaff appreciation lunch. I used stewed tomatoes and vegetable broth which made it vegetarian so those teachers and staff who are vegetarians could enjoy it too. It was well liked, (I loved it!) although I noticed something a few days later. With the leftovers, the spinach was quite yucky and the color became uniform, so it did not look as appealing. I thought it still tasted good, although the flavors all blended a little too much by then making it less flavorful. But if I was making it again and knew ahead of time there would be leftovers I would simply take out the extra BEFORE adding the spinach and fridge it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This soup is the bizzomb. My family ate this up like vultures on a carcass. The only thing I added was the four beers that I drank while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
this soup is going to be a staple in my winter kitchen. i added my own variations, incorporating some of the other suggestions: two jalapenos diced (some seeds,) two zucchini diced, 4 cloves garlic minced, vegetable stock, 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes (not 15 oz), tablespoon of ginger (store bought grated), balsamic vinegar (not white), & i pureed half of the recipe in a blender to thicken it up a bit. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This is a fabulous base recipe -- you can take this and add or delete to your own tastes and it comes out great. I used canned beef and chicken broth (about 5 cups) and the rest water, I also added potatoes (about 1 1/2 cups of diced yukon gold) at the same time that I added the lentils. I also added more garlic (person preference!). I didn't add the vinegar or spinach, and tinkered with the spices (added salt, pepper and some more garlic). I'm bringing it for lunch all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States