Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
We had this soup for our souper Wednesday staff lunch and it was a big hit. We did't use the spinach or tomato, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
Delicious soup. Very easy to make and delicious to eat. This recipe makes a big batch so be prepared with freezer bags if you have a small family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
The spinach adds some much needed colour. Try topping with shredded swiss. An excellent recipe for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Yummy! Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
OH YEAH!!!!! This is good stuff! I just made this and just the smell to start with was worth making this soup. I adjusted the serving size for 9 and only added 10 cups of water instead of the suggested 12. I like my soups a bit thick and not so watery. I added about a teaspoon of powdered onion in addition to the fresh, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, and some more basil and oregano. I like a lot of flavor and this worked! I also added three small red potato's, it lacked something and that was it. Great soup, absolute best lentil soup i've had yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
I also added 3 peeled red potatoes and the additional seasoning recommended by another reviewer and added 2 fresh chopped tomatoes instead of the canned and 1/3 cup barley. It was a big hit! My husband and the kids really liked it. This is going into my permanent recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
Best tasting lentil soup I've had so far! I added some cayenne pepper to my bowl and it was great. Thanks Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Ambrose-Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
THis is lentil soup as it should be! Don't know why we have to cook it for at least one hour. The spinach is a healthy addition and adds good colour. I am trying to think of how to give it a bit of pazazz. Maybe a shot of chilli sauce? Great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I really enjoyed this soup, it was very flavorful and it's vegetarain! I used one large red and one large yellow onion; I also added 3 red potatos cubed, 1/4 tsp ground cumin, 1/4 tsp onion powder and skipped the spinach. I pureed it a little and it was awesome. Even my boyfriend had seconds and it's hard to get him to eat vegetables. Thanks Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States