Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used butter instead of olive oil, chicken broth instead of water, and kale instead of spinach. I also used fresh herbs instead of dried (triple the amount of herbs called for when using fresh instead of dried). It was delicious! If broth is not used, I would add at least a teaspoon of salt with the water. Otherwise it will be incredibly bland. I still needed additional salt to taste at the end using chicken broth. With my changes, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I absolutely love this soup!! I used organic vegetable broth instead of water and I chopped up 2 Roma tomatoes instead of adding canned tomatoes. I did add the cumin as I love cumin in soups. Totally tasty and good. Also since I didn't have spinach I used kale and a few left over leaves of escarole. It was very tasty especially when I topped it off with the balsamic vinegar and fresh parmesan cheese. Hearty and filling, definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
VERY GOOD, JUST ADDED BROWNED BREAKFAST SAUSAGE AND IT IS A COMPLETE MEAL. ANYBODY THAT DOESN'T LIKE THIS NEEDS TO HAVE THEIR TASTEBUDS CHECKED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Just made it and it was absolutely tasteless. My pot wasn't big enough so I could only put in 2/3 the lentils and waters at the end and was expected too much flavor. Thankfully it was saved with 1/2 tbsp. each of cumin and curry powder. Would make again, but only with SIGNIFICANT modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This soup is missing something. Perhaps some beef or chicken broth would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was a very good recipe and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
this is a new staple at our house. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Added barley in place of lentils, because I was thinking barley when I read lentils. Go figure. : / Used some chicken broth I had in the freezer, along with 2 cans of beef broth. Added chicken bouillion, and just a little red pepper flakes, fennel, saffron, and sage. If you're out of lentils, give barley a try. It was mooey delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Good, easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States