Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Followed directions and it was bland and tasteless. Doctored it with tons of stuff and still was just OK. Added cayenne, celery salt, season salt, etc. and nothing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I have never had lentils before and I really loved this soup. It is very flavorful and filling. I've learned that lentils are a great source of protein which is an added bonus. I made the recipe as is, but I did simmer for 1.5 hours instead of just an hour. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I loved this soup . I used a large can of crushed tomatoes and 4 cups of chicken broth . I omitted bay leaves. Otherwise it was as the recipe states Oh I did add one large potato near the end . My daughter who is very fussy just happened to stop over and today in Florida its very cool. Perfect for soup. She said it smelled good so she tried it and ended up eating two bowls of it! She sprinkled grated cheese on the top! Thanks this is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
D licious only differences I added one yellow chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Use Basalmic vinegar instead of white vinegar. Use veggie broth instead of water. Add a few shakes of hot sauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
My family loves this recipe! I wanted to try some new soups, but my kids keep requesting the lentil soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gilad Field

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made this according to the recipe exactly. I use broth vs water. My family thought it was good. No one had seconds or anything but both kids cleaned their bowls and agreed it was tasty. It's a very nourishing dish so perhaps these folks who say it's inedible are used to more commercial flavors. We joke that we are kale and quinoa people even tho we eat meat and dairy. So there is no accounting for preferences. Give it a try as written and you can always Dr it up later. It's a very inexpensive dish to make so what have you got to lose. I used my dutch oven with a lid while cooking and needed no water added. 4 of us ate and we had 4 or 5 cups left over. I froze it for a Sunday lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This will definitely be my go to for lentil soup. So good and makes a ton. I froze half and had it for dinner two weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Cooking right now tastes pretty good, made a few changes to suit our tastes 1st - sautéed 6 oz. of cubed pancetta, added veggies 2- changed water ratio----4c. Beef broth, 3 c. Chicken broth, 1c. Water, added garlic & onion powder but that was all! I think we're gonna like it ,as I said tastes good so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyren
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Pretty easy recipe. I have tried it a couple times and if you follow the directions exactly it's a little bland. Like many reviewers I find it tastiest to make some modifications. I use veggie stock instead of water, double the oregano, basil and garlic. I also pulled about 1/4th of the soup out near the end of the cooking process, pureed it, and put it back in for thicker soup texture. Also, in typical hipster fashion I used kale leaves torn into small pieces instead of spinach. Add it at the very end so it just blanches slightly and it will turn a really nice bright green color. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States