Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe and it turned out absolutely tasteless. I added some beef broth and more vinegar so it would have some flavor. I was really trying to go vegetarian. I think it would be a good base with some ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This recipe is delicious... The only substitutions I made were to double the recipe because it is so good and keeps well and to omit the vinegar and salt and add a beef bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great soup! Easy to make. I didn't add the spinach but threw a diced fresh jalapeño pepper with the onion and carrots to give it a kick. I garnished it with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious! I add a fee drops of Red Hot for a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I do not know how to cook soup. However, this recipe was easy to follow and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I suppose for a lentil soup, it might be 4 or 5 star but really it doesn't seem like anything special even with additions suggested by others such as more carrots, potatoes, more tomatoes, etc. Could be lentil soups just don't get any better than this. If so, I'll look for another use for the lentils. I revised my opinion after letting it meld for a day and adding some Better Than Chicken Bouillon. Made all the difference and it was delicious. The broth is key. Of course, I reduced the oil to 1 tsp. (forgot the vinegar-maybe next time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Excellent soup. Like an earlier review, I doubled the spice and carrots. Also added more celery. Hearty and comforting for winter nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
OMG!!!! All I can say is this is so delicious and hearty! I really like lentil soup but sadly all I have ever tried was canned lentil soup. So sad I never made homemade lentil soup as it doesn't even compare to or come close to homemade. At first I was hesitant about the vinegar but I can see that this really helps bring all the flavor together. I used balsamic vinegar and it was so good! Even my picky 3 year old liked it! I will be keeping this recipe and telling my friends and family about it! Mmmmm mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
the blandest lentil dish I ever head. If you are used to flavorful dishes with some body to it save yourself time. Skip this. I cannot believe so many people rated this dish so highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
After reading other reviews, I made the following modifications: decreased the olive oil to 1 tbsp, omitted the bay leaf and celery (doubled carrots), used 1.5 tsp each oregano AND basil, used chicken broth instead of water, and used a 10 oz package of frozen (thawed, squeezed) spinach instead of fresh. I also rinsed the lentils, though it doesn't say to in the recipe. This is so easy to make, and is healthy and delicious. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States