Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
thought I didn't like lentil soup until I tried this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Delicious! Followed others advice and added kielbasa, next time I will add some bullion also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Very tasty with several changes. I fried three pieces of bacon in the pot first...took them out and used the bacon grease to soften the leeks, carrots, and celery. I used leeks instead of onions, doubled the spices, doubled the tomatoes, and substituted chicken stock for the water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Hall-Dumale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheka Jones
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Great recipe!I doubled on the veggies and seasoning.Also I used half of and onion and a leek.I use 4 cups of vegetable broth and 4 cups of water added jalapeno and cayenne pepper for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheka Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This makes a wonderful Lenten soup. However, I had to add another cup of wate, and it should be simmered with the lid on. I also didn't aadd the vin. But came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Made changes based on other reviews. Doubled the spices, used 2 cans of diced not crushed tomatoes, used 5 cups of chicken broth and 3 cups of water. Sautéed veggies and spices for 3-5 minutes then threw it all into the slow cooker on low for 8 hours. Placed cooked spinach, chicken sausage and balsamic on table to add individually...served with oven baked cornbread and my family devoured it. We all agreed it was the best lentil soup we had ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Awesome!! I added 1lb Italian sausage and a little orzo because I was short on lentils. I also used 4 cups veg broth and 4 cups water. I had to add a little more later because it got too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Outstanding! I made a few changes that another review (JPMARYLAND) suggested and this made all the difference. Low sodioum chicken broth instead of water for the 8 cups, plus I added another 2 cups of water. 4 carrots, 4 stalks of celery chopped up, 4 cloves garlic, 2 bay leaf, 2 tsp. basil, 4 cups thin sliced baby spinach. Double the oregano if you like oregano, I stayed with the 1 tsp. I used Balsamic vinegar and added 3 tabelspoons, this gave it a really nice flavor. I also added two medium size russet potatoes cut up in cubes. Add the cut up potato the last 30 mins. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. This was a hearty meal. You can add a ham bone or cut up hamsteak too if you like meat in your soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
With changes this is delicious hearty soup. Even my picky husband loves it! Use beef or chicken broth for water. Add a big can of crushed tomatoes and a can of stewed. Double spices and garlic. Add a whole bag frozen spinach or use fresh. Kale would be good also. Toss in mushrooms if you have them. Serve with warm rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Wow. I expected to love this based on all the great reviews. I've never had lentil soup before, but I love beans/peas/legumes and vegetables so I expected to love this recipe as well. I followed it exactly, except I subbed balsamic for white vinegar. It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States