Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have made this over a handful of times. We double the seasoning and substitute lemon juice or the vinegar. Nom nom nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I increased the spices, added sausage, and added green onions. It was fantastic and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
T thought this recipe was awesome. I had my own chicken broth made and used that instead of water. I had 10 cups of broth and wanted to use it up, so I added two extra carrots, 1 cup of spinach, doubled the spices and used balsamic vinegar. I used the same amount of lentils. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I doubled the garlic and spices since I like flavor and those who doubled didn't have any complaints. I added a couple of extra carrots and replaced 6 cups of water with chicken broth. BTW, 2 cups of lentils happens to be a 16 oz bag. I changed the plain vinegar to balsamic because I love it and couldn't resist adding the 3 tablespoons of port wine because I love it too! My salt and pepper to taste ended up being a tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. I didn't add spinach because I was planning to have leftovers and didn't think it would hold up well. I used a hand held wand to puree about half of the soup to make it thicker. I think this soup is much better the next day, so I highly recommend making it the day before. It just barely fit in a 4 qt pot, so you might want to set your sights on something bigger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used butter instead of olive oil, chicken broth instead of water, and kale instead of spinach. I also used fresh herbs instead of dried (triple the amount of herbs called for when using fresh instead of dried). It was delicious! If broth is not used, I would add at least a teaspoon of salt with the water. Otherwise it will be incredibly bland. I still needed additional salt to taste at the end using chicken broth. With my changes, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I absolutely love this soup!! I used organic vegetable broth instead of water and I chopped up 2 Roma tomatoes instead of adding canned tomatoes. I did add the cumin as I love cumin in soups. Totally tasty and good. Also since I didn't have spinach I used kale and a few left over leaves of escarole. It was very tasty especially when I topped it off with the balsamic vinegar and fresh parmesan cheese. Hearty and filling, definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
VERY GOOD, JUST ADDED BROWNED BREAKFAST SAUSAGE AND IT IS A COMPLETE MEAL. ANYBODY THAT DOESN'T LIKE THIS NEEDS TO HAVE THEIR TASTEBUDS CHECKED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Just made it and it was absolutely tasteless. My pot wasn't big enough so I could only put in 2/3 the lentils and waters at the end and was expected too much flavor. Thankfully it was saved with 1/2 tbsp. each of cumin and curry powder. Would make again, but only with SIGNIFICANT modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This soup is missing something. Perhaps some beef or chicken broth would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was a very good recipe and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States